ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: A/V over network  (Read 2568 times)

Clayton Luckie

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 113
A/V over network
« on: February 23, 2006, 02:22:48 pm »

I'm looking for a solution, and thought I'd get the good folks at the LAB to help out.  

Here at the church, we have our main worship service sent through a distribution system to go to TVs around campus (overflow, cry rooms, etc).  The problem, however, is that not every room is wired.  I thought a good thing to look into might be if I could send the A/V over the network.  The rooms in question are wired for network, but not the coax TV feed.  Does anyone know a unit that will take composite video and stereo audio, and send this over a network?  I don't want it to look like a webcam feed.  The frame rate and audio quality must be preserved.  In other words, can the quality be as good as an analog TV feed?

I hope this is clear.  Feel free to ask questions if I need to clarify.  Thanks!

cl
Logged

Aaron McQueen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 557
Re: A/V over network
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2006, 03:51:33 pm »

Could any of these work?

http://www.svideo.com/vi.html

I don't think you run these over IP, meaning there cannot be a switch/router in the path.  They sell a hub, but that looks expensive.

Also do a google search for video over IP.  These actually convert the audio/video to digital and then send it as regular network data.  These are designed for video conferencing, and probably more than what you need, and I am sure some quality will be lost in the A/D/D/A conversion.

If you already have the video distrution set up, you are probably better off just running coax to those other rooms.

Logged
Faith comes by hearing, and hearing by the word of God - Romans 10:17 NKJV

Clayton Luckie

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 113
Re: A/V over network
« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2006, 04:31:26 pm »

Well, I'd need it to run over IP, since this would be going through multiple switches.  Basically, I think I'd need something with its own UI and IP address.  I'm imagining being able to stream it in Windows Media by entering in the IP.  

I might be living in dreamland with this thing.  I just want to see what my options are.  Thanks for the ideas and keep em coming!

cl
Logged

Clayton Luckie

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 113
Re: A/V over network
« Reply #3 on: February 23, 2006, 04:43:19 pm »

http://www.slingmedia.com/

Perhaps...

This looks like the thing.  If the quality is good, it might just work.  Let the opinions roll in...

cl
Logged

Aaron McQueen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 557
Re: A/V over network
« Reply #4 on: February 23, 2006, 04:51:20 pm »

Ok, as long as in the rooms you have computer, you should be able to set up a computer and video capture card with windows media encoder to stream the video over the network.  You will have to do some work with fixed internal ip addresses and if there is a router/firewall open some ports.

This is an interesting idea and I may try it myself, as we are looking to distribute video in the future.  We have a video capture card, maybe I will do a test.
Logged
Faith comes by hearing, and hearing by the word of God - Romans 10:17 NKJV

Andy Spalla

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
    • http://www.spallasound.com
Re: A/V over network
« Reply #5 on: February 23, 2006, 10:43:58 pm »

Check out the VBrick system. One of the schools in the district uses this.

http://www.vbrick.com/
Logged

David Henry

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 48
Re: A/V over network
« Reply #6 on: February 26, 2006, 09:31:36 pm »

Clayton Luckie wrote on Thu, 23 February 2006 16:43

http://www.slingmedia.com/
If the quality is good, it might just work.  Let the opinions roll in...



I haven't used it myself, but their was a review in Macworld(or was it popsci?) on it, and they said it worked great.  However, they apparently had quality issues and i believe they said they would only buy it if they absolutely couldn't tape it or something.

David
Logged
The tap tempo is your pal.

Brian Kent Tennyson

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 68
    • http://www.visitec.com
Re: A/V over network
« Reply #7 on: February 27, 2006, 05:51:22 pm »

Just saw this, probably not what you need but intresting anyway

http://www.tonercable.com//Toner%20Website/CatalogPages/SECT ION%2020/ZBAND%20TV%20OVER%20CAT5.pdf
Logged
You can't get enough, but enough ain't the test.

Brian Kent Tennyson
Visitec Inc.
www.visitec.com
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 


Page created in 0.053 seconds with 22 queries.