ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: K-sub or other Slim Subs  (Read 3820 times)

Peter Kowalczyk

K-sub or other Slim Subs
« on: September 25, 2018, 02:05:04 PM »

Apologies if this has been beaten to death already; redirect and flame away if necessary...

A client is looking for slim / compact subs to fit under the stage in a new, small (<150 cap), fixed install.  He's interested in the QSC K sub, which is <15" wide.  Whatever we choose will be working with a mid-level self powered 12" 2 way; (still TBD, though I'm a DSR fanboy).

I have little experience with bandpass designs, and have not personally used this model, so I'm looking for:

a) opinions on the K Sub, and its successor the KS112
b) alternate options for slim subs that I should be considering.

Marketing SPL numbers put the K sub louder by 2dB than the newer KS112 (130 vs 128), but have the KS112 operating lower in frequency (-6dB at 41 vs. 48Hz) - any real world experience to refute or confirm this?

Thanks!

Debbie Dunkley

• Central North Carolina
Re: K-sub or other Slim Subs
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2018, 02:18:08 PM »

Apologies if this has been beaten to death already; redirect and flame away if necessary...

A client is looking for slim / compact subs to fit under the stage in a new, small (<150 cap), fixed install.  He's interested in the QSC K sub, which is <15" wide.  Whatever we choose will be working with a mid-level self powered 12" 2 way; (still TBD, though I'm a DSR fanboy).

I have little experience with bandpass designs, and have not personally used this model, so I'm looking for:

Marketing SPL numbers put the K sub louder by 2dB than the newer KS112 (130 vs 128), but have the KS112 operating lower in frequency (-6dB at 41 vs. 48Hz) - any real world experience to refute or confirm this?

Thanks!