Sound Reinforcement - Forums for Live Sound Professionals - Your Displayed Name Must Be Your Real Full Name To Post In The Live Sound Forums > Lighting Forum

Moving head issues

(1/6) > >>

Magnus Andersson:
Hello there! I'm a total newbie with moving heads and I require aid!  ;D

I just acquired 4x Martin Mac 550 and they operate with 21 or 27 channels, while my lighting controller (Stairville DMX Master 3 - FX) only got 16 DMX channels. Is it still possible to use the Mac 550's or do I need a more advanced controller?

I've connected one of the Martins to my controller with 3-pin DMX cable and assigned it to channel 1, but I can't get it to work. I've tried more or less all buttons and tried to google the reasons why it doesn't work but can't find it. I've managed to get it to spin and tilt but no light.

Is the failures because of the lack of channels (16) on my controller since it's 21- or 27 channel moving heads or is it me not getting something?

Thanks in advance :D

Dave Garoutte:
You will only be able to address the first 16 channels of the Mac.
The fader or On channel is probably at a higher channel number and you can't get there from here.
Download the manual and check which channels do what.

You'll need a high channel count controller board (not very useful for movers) or a system like Luminaire / Ipad / wireless / Enttec (very powerful and easy to use).

Scott Holtzman:

--- Quote from: Magnus Andersson on July 12, 2018, 06:18:56 PM ---Hello there! I'm a total newbie with moving heads and I require aid!  ;D

I just acquired 4x Martin Mac 550 and they operate with 21 or 27 channels, while my lighting controller (Stairville DMX Master 3 - FX) only got 16 DMX channels. Is it still possible to use the Mac 550's or do I need a more advanced controller?