ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: Fan on a circuit breaker panel?  (Read 5379 times)

Mike Sokol

• Lead instructor for the No~Shock~Zone
    • No~Shock~Zone Electrical Safety
Fan on a circuit breaker panel?
« on: July 02, 2018, 08:12:51 PM »

I just received this email from one of my RVelectricity readers. I suspect he's getting a lot of heat buildup from the inverter which is causing the breakers to trip. In RVs like this the manufacturers usually cram the inverter and circuit breaker panel into a little box that certainly would trap heat. Have any of you seen any studies on the effects of ambient air temperature on circuit breaker trip thresholds?

Hi Mike,

I'm an electrician and enjoy reading your articles on RV Travel.  I have a dilemma with my own RV I wanted to throw at ya.

I have a 2005 Sunseeker Class C.   We bought it used in 2009.      The electric panel,  12 volt fuse box,  and inverter are mounted near the floor,  next to the bed,  in an area with absolutely no air movement.

Ever since we owned it,   the fan on the inverter would cycle on and off very often.   

We have trouble with the AC breaker tripping.  I know about the lower voltage,  etc.  But,  the breakers get extremely hot. I've replaced the breakers and checked all connections,  and even put a new 30 amp cord end on.  I also cleaned the coils on the AC.

I decided to try something this past weekend seeing as the temps were in the mid to upper 90's. I have a 12 volt fan that I plugged in and aimed towards the breaker area.   Not only did the breakers stay cool,  but nothing tripped and the inverter fan was not cycling on and off.  The voltage on my kill-a-watt meter was down to 110 at 1 point,  plugged into a different circuit.