ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: EV ZLX12-P...Turbosound iP2000...Now What?  (Read 4376 times)

Martin West

EV ZLX12-P...Turbosound iP2000...Now What?
« on: May 22, 2018, 05:31:28 PM »

Hey everyone! I'm wondering if I can get some advice on a live PA set-up.

Here was my previous set-up (I'm a solo artist):

- two EV ZLX-12P speakers on stands
- Mackie ProFX12 mixer
- SM58 for vocals
- acoustic guitar with DI
- analog bass stomp box (percussion)
- analog snare stomp box (percussion)

I haven't had any complaints on this system except for the weight and basically just the hassle of setting up and tearing down by myself. At times I also wished I had a bit more low end for my bass stompbox.

So I started looking at the tower systems, and after a bunch of research I decided to go with the Turbosound iP2000. In the meantime I sold the EVs.

To make a long story short, after testing it out, I don't think the iP2000 is going to cut it for me. I think I was fooling myself into thinking I could replace two speakers with one. Or maybe the iP2000 really are just bad quality. Needless to say I could use some advice on what speakers to get.

I'm changing up my solo act a bit and am looking to do something similar to Jack Garret
https://youtu.be/Q2GTddbSe4Y
or Tash Sultana
https://youtu.be/aCyBv00pvbw

In order to do something like this I would probably need a sub. The types of venues I play (where I need a PA) are breweries, wineries, bars, restaurants. The crowd is usually never over 100-150.

Did I make a mistake in getting rid of my EV ZLX-12P speakers? My top budget is $1000, maybe $1200 and and have it be as lightweight as possible. I've read the Yamaha DXR10 are great but that'll put me at the top of my budget and still no sub. Anyways, thanks for suffering through the long post. Any advice would be great! Thanks everyone!

Paul G. OBrien