ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 3 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: Backup console?  (Read 1239 times)

John Roll

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 214
Backup console?
« on: May 09, 2018, 06:43:35 pm »

What do you carry as a spare in case your main FOH console goes down? I have an 8ch. Soundcraft (analog), w/ no outboard gear. It helped get me through the night once. I use a StudioLive 16.4.2 (non AI) for all my shows.

John
Logged
John Roll
JMR Pro Audio

QSC, JBL, Presonus, Audix, K&M, EWI, Furman

David Winners

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 348
  • Bryan, OH
Re: Backup console?
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2018, 06:55:02 pm »

I keep an XR18 as a backup for my X32 Rack.
Logged

Stephen Kirby

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2960
Re: Backup console?
« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2018, 06:56:42 pm »

I used to carry around my Gigrack powered head as an 8 channel back up to my Expression 2.  But I recently found a 16 ch Yamaha MX that's fairly small.  Got a SKB soft bag for it.  Most things I can fit into 16 channels so that's better prepared.  I also have my old A&H GL24 in the back of the garage but it's bigger and heavier than the Soundcraft so unless I absolutely needed to back up 24 channels it stays home.  The MX has some FX and Yamaha's one knob compression on some channels so that's handy.  I've used it for some small gigs.  Fortunately never had to pull it out over the Expression.  But you never know with a computer.  Having something small and handy standing by probably scares the computer into behaving.
Logged

Bob Faulkner

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 713
  • Raleigh, NC
Re: Backup console?
« Reply #3 on: May 09, 2018, 07:36:39 pm »

Depending on the size of the event, A&H GL2400, or a Presonus 16.4.2

Logged

Steve Crump

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 242
Re: Backup console?
« Reply #4 on: May 09, 2018, 08:03:47 pm »

I use the QU-PAC as a back up for the QU-16.

Craig Leerman

  • Spanning the Globe as a
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 608
  • Do Not Read This!
Re: Backup console?
« Reply #5 on: May 09, 2018, 08:05:59 pm »

I wrote an article about having a small extra mixer at gigs

https://www.prosoundweb.com/topics/sound_reinforcement/mvp_the_many_useful_applications_of_small_utility_mixers/

Currently I carry a QSC TouchMix16 to gigs as a backup and utility mixer. It also comes in handy as a recording device

Before the QSCs I used to carry a Mackie DFX12 as a backup and utility mixer. I still use the DFX mixers for breakout rooms.

Logged
I'm so old, when I was doing FOH for Tommy Dorsey, to balance out the horn section I would slide their chairs downstage and upstage to mix!

TechWorksReno.com
Facebook.com/TechWorksReno
Pinterest.com/TechWorks0492

dave briar

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 153
  • Helena Montana
Re: Backup console?
« Reply #6 on: May 09, 2018, 08:38:36 pm »

I carry a pair of X32 Racks. If I need more than 16 mic pres I use the second as a stage box. If the primary would ever fail (never has) I can convert the stage box to a primary by loading a scene.

   ..db
Logged
..db

David Winners

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 348
  • Bryan, OH
Re: Backup console?
« Reply #7 on: May 10, 2018, 01:16:44 am »

I carry a pair of X32 Racks. If I need more than 16 mic pres I use the second as a stage box. If the primary would ever fail (never has) I can convert the stage box to a primary by loading a scene.

   ..db

I just purchased a second X32 rack, and I think this makes for a very flexible combination. I have a built in backup in case one fails, a lot of I/O, separate boards for FOH and monitors (so musos don't screw with FOH), and it's not much more $$$ than an S16.
Logged

James Paul

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 112
Re: Backup console?
« Reply #8 on: May 10, 2018, 06:34:50 am »

X32Rack as backup for X32Rack.

Prior to then MusicGroup`s game changing product debut, had a 1642 series one save the day for a DL1608 that gave up the ghost at power-up.

We all be packing extra WiFi, power supplies, tablets, computers, USB/SD media, cat5/6, USB/FW cables, & self -powered cabs.... right ?
Logged

Don T. Williams

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 661
  • Midas Pro 1 & 2, M32, dbTech T12, T8, S30, DM12
    • Q Systems Music & Sound
Re: Backup console?
« Reply #9 on: May 10, 2018, 11:32:02 am »

I also like the idea of a X32 Rack as a back-up for M32/X32.  I have considered a QSC Touchmix 30 as a possible backup for BE's that might want somethings more hands on, but I doubt they would be happy with anything but the requested console.  I've never had a digital console failure, yet. 

I had a Series 5 (my house console) go down during a show. Luckily my engineer was mixing.  I sent a rough and quickly constructed stereo mix from my monitor console back to FOH.  That was patched to LR main outs and sound was down for only a couple of minutes.  Though they knew we had a brief outage, I'm not certain anyone in the audience knew the mix was coming from the side of the stage for the last hour of the show.  I'm glad I had constructed a stereo mix for my own pleasure at monitors.  I often do that if it's a "set it and forget it" kind of monitor job.
Logged

Terry Martin

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 168
Re: Backup console?
« Reply #10 on: May 10, 2018, 11:43:15 am »

We carry X32 and X32 Rack (IEM rack) to all shows.  We’ve never needed a backup but we’re prepared just in case.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Logged

Mal Brown

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 424
Re: Backup console?
« Reply #11 on: May 10, 2018, 12:36:41 pm »

Main is an SI 1 or 3 with or without the 32x12 stage box gig depending.  Backup is a ui-24.

For smaller gigs, the ui - 24 and no backup is how I typically run.
Logged
Bass player, sound guy.
Fb Gorge Sound and Light
WillyandNelson.com

Dan Mortensen

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 488
Re: Backup console?
« Reply #12 on: May 16, 2018, 03:21:21 am »

I'm not doing shows anymore that need anything bigger than an X32, so if there's a guest mixer I'll take a full size console. If not, a Producer for full-size console shows.

For X32 Rack or XR-18 shows, each of those rack cases has another of the same consoles in it (so 2 XR-18's, etc.).

Having an analog console as a spare in the digital age where there's NO outboard gear onsite will seriously shortchange the show. It'll make noise, but the noise won't be pretty.

As I just said in another thread, the size, weight, and cost of a spare duplicate digital console are negligible by historic standards and it doesn't make sense to NOT have one on hand. This cheap gear will die eventually, and regularly saving the show to USB and having a functionally duplicate console on-hand makes it quick and easy to swap, load, and go in event of a failure.
Logged

Geert Friedhof

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 428
Re: Backup console?
« Reply #13 on: May 16, 2018, 05:55:18 am »

I have a X32 core in each of my Midas DL stagebox-racks. For DJ and small stuff, and for backup. I also bring an 16/8 100ft analog multi, which lives on the bottom of my powercable case
« Last Edit: May 16, 2018, 05:57:59 am by Geert Friedhof »
Logged

Kemper Watson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 427
Re: Backup console?
« Reply #14 on: May 16, 2018, 08:42:48 am »

I keep an XR18 as a backup for my X32 Rack.
 

Same here. I used to carry a MixWiz but have since gone totally digital
Logged

Will Knight

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 221
Re: Backup console?
« Reply #15 on: May 16, 2018, 10:10:04 am »

Main is an SI 1 or 3 with or without the 32x12 stage box gig depending.  Backup is a ui-24.

For smaller gigs, the ui - 24 and no backup is how I typically run.

I use an SI Impact or SI 1 with or without the 32x MSB.  My Backup is the UI16.  Smaller gigs where I bring the UI16 as primary, I keep an old but fully functional M1402 with a Lex400 O/B in the car....just in case.
Logged

Nathan Riddle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1438
  • Niceville, FL
    • Nailed Productions
Re: Backup console?
« Reply #16 on: May 16, 2018, 10:23:24 am »

XR18 or Presonus 16.0.2 as backup to my SQ6 :)
Logged
I'm just a guy trying to do the next right thing.

This business is for people with too much energy for desk jobs and too much brain for labor jobs. - Scott Helmke

Tommy Shannon

  • Marketplace
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
Re: Backup console?
« Reply #17 on: May 16, 2018, 12:39:54 pm »

LS9-16 as backup to my Midas M32R. I keep it in my truck all the time now. I use to use a Midas Venice 32 as backup to my LS9 - it's been retired to my basement.
Logged

Steve Ferreira

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 297
Re: Backup console?
« Reply #18 on: May 16, 2018, 01:12:59 pm »

I don't carry a back up to my Soundcraft Si3 anymore if local gigs. I will take my A&H GL with analog snake if going farther away. Digital consoles have come a long way.
Logged

Robert Lunceford

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 292
Re: Backup console?
« Reply #19 on: May 16, 2018, 02:50:14 pm »

What do you carry as a spare in case your main FOH console goes down? I have an 8ch. Soundcraft (analog), w/ no outboard gear. It helped get me through the night once. I use a StudioLive 16.4.2 (non AI) for all my shows.

John

If you are using an analog board your back up can be any other analog board as long as it has the same number of channel inputs, output sends, and inserts that you require. All the connectors should be the same on each board. XLR or TRS outputs for example.

If you are using digital, it only makes sense to stay with the same manufacturer and product line for your back up. You want to be able to save your scene to a usb drive and then be able to load the scene into your backup mixer.
I have QU mixers and carry a QU-Pac for backup. If the main mixer fails, I can swap out the mixer and load the scene into the QU-Pac and be up and running in less than 5 minutes. The other thing I like about the QU-Pac is that you can actually mix from the unit itself as it has a user interface. You are not dependent on a tablet to mix.

Logged

Dan Mortensen

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 488
Re: Backup console?
« Reply #20 on: May 16, 2018, 04:02:40 pm »

I have a X32 core in each of my Midas DL stagebox-racks. For DJ and small stuff, and for backup. I also bring an 16/8 100ft analog multi, which lives on the bottom of my powercable case

I was doing this, too, but discovered that getting a show from a full-size or other console into the Core was much harder than it should be.

Have you had to use the Core to save a gig? (Meaning your primary console irretrievably failed.)
Logged

Geert Friedhof

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 428
Re: Backup console?
« Reply #21 on: May 16, 2018, 06:35:11 pm »

I was doing this, too, but discovered that getting a show from a full-size or other console into the Core was much harder than it should be.

Have you had to use the Core to save a gig? (Meaning your primary console irretrievably failed.)

Never, but i always have my laptop for a meterbridge.

Going from full to core is as easy as plugging my laptop into the core and sync from pc to core,,, I do this all the time with current 'performers'. Changeover takes 5 secs?

Elaboration: when the real musicians stop, who require a FOH, and the not so musical, but usb empowered person starts, there is no need, or desire, for me to stay at foh.
« Last Edit: May 16, 2018, 06:43:19 pm by Geert Friedhof »
Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 [All]   Go Up
 


Page created in 0.088 seconds with 23 queries.