ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Line array for home theatre.  (Read 3175 times)

Ivan Beaver

• Atlanta GA
Re: Line array for home theatre.
« Reply #10 on: April 26, 2018, 05:18:54 PM »

I suppose those Shure Vocalmasters aren't line arrays either.  ;)
Now a real question, the Wikipedia says that the Grateful Dead Wall of Sound is.
I have an old vocal master brochure in which they talk about the narrowing of the vertical pattern-due to the stacked drivers.

The problem is that this only happens at the lower freq, down to a certain point at which it falls apart.  So it depends on the freq.

As you go up in freq, the drivers are to large, and act more as independent radiators.  At least they used the smaller 8" ones in the middle and the larger 10" ones on the top/bottom.

The "concept" was there, but no implemented real good.  But you also have to look at the time period.  But Olson described line array behavior and the resultant lobing a couple of decades before.

But there is no xover, so every driver gets a full range signal.

The Deads system had some aspects of a line, but only certain cabinets at certain freq.
A complex question is easily answered by a simple-easy to understand WRONG answer!

Ivan Beaver
Danley Sound Labs

PHYSICS- NOT FADS!

Stephen Kirby

« Reply #11 on: April 27, 2018, 01:24:30 AM »

Having spent many years with Magnapans, in a home environment with low ceilings and a small fixed listening area you do benefit from the reduced HF dispersion.  Less early reflections off the floor and ceiling.  The situation is entirely different than SR.