ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: GL2400 effects insert question  (Read 1742 times)

Fred Dorado

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 57
GL2400 effects insert question
« on: March 26, 2018, 02:06:36 pm »

I downloaded the manual, but this wasn't clear to me.

I need to redo all the connections on our GL2400 and we have 1 effects unit.

Currently the effects unit is setup for Aux 6 and then back into channel 15.

Is it possible to use "group 1" fader for the effects rather than one of the input channels.

The back panel has fader inserts 1-4 & L-R

Would I just use the XLR output from grp 1 to insert 1?

or how would I do it.

Basically I am hoping to use all 6 aux's for monitors.

thanks

Logged

John L Nobile

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1526
Re: GL2400 effects insert question
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2018, 02:14:39 pm »

Not the best way to do it but it will work. Take the output of the subgroup to the input of the FX unit which you can still keep routed to ch 15. Just make sure that you don't assign ch 15 to that subgroup.
Logged

Jordan Wolf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1281
  • Location: Collingswood, NJ
Re: GL2400 effects insert question
« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2018, 04:20:05 pm »

Your way can work, but the logic behind the traditional way of patching an FX processor is to allow differing amounts of each signal to be sent to the FX unit.
Logged
Jordan Wolf
<><

"We want our sound to go into the soul of the audience, and see if it can awaken some little thing in their minds... Cause there are so many sleeping people." - Jimi Hendrix

Taylor Phillips

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 365
Re: GL2400 effects insert question
« Reply #3 on: March 26, 2018, 04:21:36 pm »



I downloaded the manual, but this wasn't clear to me.

I need to redo all the connections on our GL2400 and we have 1 effects unit.

Currently the effects unit is setup for Aux 6 and then back into channel 15.

Is it possible to use "group 1" fader for the effects rather than one of the input channels.

The back panel has fader inserts 1-4 & L-R

Would I just use the XLR output from grp 1 to insert 1?

or how would I do it.

Basically I am hoping to use all 6 aux's for monitors.

thanks

You can send the output of group 1 to your effects unit the same way you send it from Aux 6.  I believe you could also use a TRS insert cable in the insert for group 1 and route the group to the stereo bus and free up a channel on the board.  I don't think you want to connect the XLR output of group 1 to its insert.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk

Logged

Luke Geis

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1445
    • Owner of Endever Music Production's
Re: GL2400 effects insert question
« Reply #4 on: March 26, 2018, 05:30:51 pm »

I think what he means is using the group 1 insert as the return point for the fx? So this way he doesn't have to eat up a channel for that purpose.

I would advise as such. If you absolutely are trying to find ways to keep channels available, you need a bigger mixer. If you typically eat up 24 channels, you need a 32 channel mixer. Not for any other reason but to avoid the possibility of running out. If you utilize 32 channels regularly, then you need a 48 channel mixer.

However you can make a cable that will return the FX back into the inserts return path for any given channel or mix. This not the ideal way to do it, but it will work.
Logged
I don't understand how you can't hear your self

Fred Dorado

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 57
Re: GL2400 effects insert question
« Reply #5 on: March 26, 2018, 06:20:30 pm »

ok guys, thanks for the input.

I wasn't as concerned about keeping the channel open as I was about wanting to keep the aux open.

I don't think we actually use the effects that much, but I will see.

I think Taylor Phillips is right, just using the trs on the insert - I checked the manual and it doesn't have that much about those inserts.

We are making some band changes after Easter and I was hoping for more monitor feeds, but we may not need them.

Logged

Aron Kam

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
Re: GL2400 effects insert question
« Reply #6 on: March 28, 2018, 04:50:25 am »

My church do route Group signal to compressor with insert cable from insert 1-4 at the back.

However, for Frad case, it will be hard to control the amount of effect for each channel, and become an "absolute" post-fade
Logged

Luke Geis

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1445
    • Owner of Endever Music Production's
Re: GL2400 effects insert question
« Reply #7 on: March 28, 2018, 06:30:22 pm »

The insert is rather simple and common. It is simply a stereo 1/4" plug to two mono 1/4" plugs. The stereo plug goes into the mixer and then the mono 1/4" plugs go into and out of the desired piece of gear. Most all mixers use tip for send and sleeve for return. This mixer is simply that. Simply determine which of the two mono plugs is associated to the tip of the stereo plug and that will go into your FX. The other mono plug will then be associated to the sleeve of the stereo and it will connect to the output of the FX.
Logged
I don't understand how you can't hear your self
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 


Page created in 0.04 seconds with 17 queries.