ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2 3 4   Go Down

Author Topic: Formal education / job hunting for live sound  (Read 8576 times)

Blake Cerenzia

Formal education / job hunting for live sound
« on: March 10, 2018, 09:07:16 PM »

First, a little bit about me. I have been running sound for about 6 years now for school events. This means plays, choir concerts, pep rallies, talent shows, fundraisers, etc.

But as I'm a graduating senior this June, I want to make a career out of it.

My main questions are:

1. Is there formal education I should get before getting a serious job in the live sound world? I see some colleges that do recording, but for live sound?

(already have the basic fundamentals of microphones, analog/some digital, loudspeakers, acoustics, etc.)

2. Where should I look for opportunities? (if it helps, I live in Bellingham, WA)

3. Any particular fundamentals or skills should I develop/learn to improve my chances of landing a job? (networked audio, video, lighting, etc)

Any advice appreciated.

Jay Barracato

• Solomons, MD
Re: Formal education / job hunting for live sound
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2018, 09:43:38 PM »

First, a little bit about me. I have been running sound for about 6 years now for school events. This means plays, choir concerts, pep rallies, talent shows, fundraisers, etc.

My main questions are:

1. Is there formal education I should get before getting a serious job in the live sound world? I see some colleges that do recording, but for live sound?

(already have the basic fundamentals of microphones, analog/some digital, loudspeakers, acoustics, etc.)

2. Where should I look for opportunities? (if it helps, I live in Bellingham, WA)

3. Any particular fundamentals or skills should I develop/learn to improve my chances of landing a job? (networked audio, video, lighting, etc)

Any advice appreciated.