ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2] 3   Go Down

Author Topic: DVS under High Sierra  (Read 4680 times)

Andrew Broughton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1467
    • Check Check One Two
Re: DVS under High Sierra
« Reply #10 on: March 04, 2018, 03:36:30 pm »

Iíve had a similar experience some year ago and the duplex flow control was the issue. Make sure that your ethernet flow control is disabled and that your duplex is full-duplex.

Try a manual setting and see if this helps in your case. Iím unable to upload pict from my ipad :-(

Where is that setting in MacOS?
Logged
-Andy

"Well, my days of not taking you seriously are certainly coming to a middle..."

http://www.checkcheckonetwo.com
Saving lives through Digital Audio, Programming and Electronics.

Jordan Wolf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1328
  • Location: Collingswood, NJ
Logged
Jordan Wolf
<><

"We want our sound to go into the soul of the audience, and see if it can awaken some little thing in their minds... Cause there are so many sleeping people." - Jimi Hendrix

Robert Lofgren

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 654
Re: DVS under High Sierra
« Reply #12 on: March 04, 2018, 06:42:46 pm »

Yes, that is the correct settings page.

I had best results with the 'full-duplex'-only setting as my investigation showed that having 'flow-control' enabled' killed bandwidth performance. I found this out when I was doing beta testing of dante and aes67 and had inconsistent results.

I might be wrong, but I think that the 'energy-efficient-ethernet' option only shows if your ethernet switch supports it. If it's there it should be disabled since Audinate says that this ethernet feature does not work well with dante.

Not that it matters for dante so much, but I enable avb and large mtu frames as well since my general network performance benefits from it. Enabling avb might help with dante as well since they share some common ground, but my tests have only been with channel counts below 128 in dedicated and non-congested network setups.

https://studionetworksolutions.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/212053843-Using-energy-efficient-ethernet-mode-on-Macs-may-cause-drops

Seems an interesting issue...
« Last Edit: March 04, 2018, 06:48:29 pm by Robert Lofgren »
Logged

Riley Casey

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1296
Re: DVS under High Sierra
« Reply #13 on: March 04, 2018, 08:20:01 pm »

Unrelated but notable tidbit I've discovered today.  DVS will not work with a "bridged" ethernet adaptor.  Case in point being new MacBook Pro with USB C Thunderbolt ports.  Audinate lists only the Apple brand Thunderbolt to ethernet adaptor as supported.  The MacAlly USB C to Ethernet / USB 3 dongle will not work.

Robert Lofgren

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 654
Re: DVS under High Sierra
« Reply #14 on: March 06, 2018, 01:05:03 pm »

I got the AVIO converters today  8)




Iím going to start testing the analog avio adapters next week so I will be able to tell if anything in the latest macos updates has broken dvs.
Logged

Geert Friedhof

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 478
Re: DVS under High Sierra
« Reply #15 on: March 06, 2018, 03:07:36 pm »

Hehe Looks like you have to connect the output adapter to an input and visa versa...

BTW Where did you get them?
Logged

Robert Lofgren

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 654
Re: DVS under High Sierra
« Reply #16 on: March 06, 2018, 06:13:22 pm »

They are pre-production loaners for evaluation and testing DDM.

Hehe Looks like you have to connect the output adapter to an input and visa versa...

BTW Where did you get them?
Logged

Andrew Broughton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1467
    • Check Check One Two
Re: DVS under High Sierra
« Reply #17 on: March 06, 2018, 06:58:15 pm »

So still no joy. Checked network settings (they were already set correctly).
Looking at the computer's device view in DC, on the transmit tab I can see green speaker icons showing the tracks playback audio is being sent.
If I look at the CL5 device view which DVS is transmitting to, I see no green speaker icons on the receive tab, which corresponds to the console not receiving any signal from DVS.
No idea where the break is in the communication.
« Last Edit: March 07, 2018, 01:02:41 pm by Andrew Broughton »
Logged
-Andy

"Well, my days of not taking you seriously are certainly coming to a middle..."

http://www.checkcheckonetwo.com
Saving lives through Digital Audio, Programming and Electronics.

Mac Kerr

  • Old enough to know better
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6419
  • Audio Plumber
Re: DVS under High Sierra
« Reply #18 on: March 06, 2018, 07:50:49 pm »

So still no joy. Checked network settings (they were already set correctly).
Looking at the computer's device view in DC, on the transmit tab I can see green speaker icons showing the tracks playback audio is being sent.
If I look at the CL5 device view which DVS is transmitting to, I see no green speaker icons on the transmit tab, which corresponds to the console not receiving any signal from DVS.
No idea where the break is in the communication.

If DVS is transmitting, and you see signal lights, the CL5 is a receiver and you should be looking at the receive tab.

Mac
Logged

Andrew Broughton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1467
    • Check Check One Two
Re: DVS under High Sierra
« Reply #19 on: March 07, 2018, 01:01:37 pm »

Typo, I meant receive tab. Fixed in my post.
Logged
-Andy

"Well, my days of not taking you seriously are certainly coming to a middle..."

http://www.checkcheckonetwo.com
Saving lives through Digital Audio, Programming and Electronics.
Pages: 1 [2] 3   Go Up
 


Page created in 0.046 seconds with 22 queries.