ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [3]  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Wide Range scanner for WWB  (Read 2843 times)

Kevin Maxwell

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1039
Re: Wide Range scanner for WWB
« Reply #20 on: March 10, 2018, 11:16:54 pm »

Thank you. I agree it is WWB 5 that has the problem.

I am starting the rehearsal with sound for a musical on Monday (still setting things up) and even though we have worked this venue often I am going to rescan the room today. Just to see if there is anything new on the air. I will use the WinRadio software but I am also going to run a test or 2 to see how accurate WWB 6 is when using the Shure UHF-R receivers to scan. I have done this before and I thought even they were off a little bit in this configuration. So that is why I will test that today. I will report back with my results.

One of the reason that I usually use the WinRadio is, many times I am also using additional wireless not just the Shure UHF-R, that are slightly outside of the range of the Shures. But for this show I am using the UHF-R wireless except for one hot back up. And I think it is in the range of the Shures.

I tried it today and found that when using 2 different bands on 2 of the UHF-R receivers as the scanner in WWB 6.12.0.88. And I had one transmitter on in each band and it looked like it picked them up on the exact frequency that they were transmitting on. So it does look like you get accurate results using this method. 
Logged

Mike Kahrs

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 39
Re: Wide Range scanner for WWB
« Reply #21 on: March 13, 2018, 03:42:39 pm »

Speaking of scans, tho' I use IAS for freqs, I scan with WWB whenever convenient, and I ALWAYS scan with one channel in EACH receiver in my rack, even if they are all the same band.  Very interesting, sometimes, when I compare the scans received on each receiver connected to the same pair of antennas.
Logged
Why know when you can guess...

Ike Zimbel

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 366
  • I'm not a newbie, I just play one on the internet!
    • Zimbel Audio Productions
Re: Wide Range scanner for WWB
« Reply #22 on: March 15, 2018, 01:59:50 pm »

Speaking of scans, tho' I use IAS for freqs, I scan with WWB whenever convenient, and I ALWAYS scan with one channel in EACH receiver in my rack, even if they are all the same band.  Very interesting, sometimes, when I compare the scans received on each receiver connected to the same pair of antennas.
Hi Mike,
Have you ever delved into the differences and found any reasons for them? One thing that would not surprise me at all would be BNC jumper cables with recessed center pins. I find one or more of those on practically every gig.
Logged
~Ike Zimbel~
Wireless frequency coordination specialist.
Manufacturer's Representative (Canada)
Alteros Inc
Radio Active Designs
~416-720-0887~
ca.linkedin.com/pub/ike-zimbel/48/aa1/266

Gian Luca Cavalliini

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23
    • Live on Stage
Re: Wide Range scanner for WWB
« Reply #23 on: March 15, 2018, 05:04:35 pm »

Hi Mike,
Have you ever delved into the differences and found any reasons for them? One thing that would not surprise me at all would be BNC jumper cables with recessed center pins. I find one or more of those on practically every gig.

+1. It happened to me many times...
Logged
Short coffee, SHORT coffee, more SHORT coffee... yes, I'm from Italy!
Pages: 1 2 [3]  All   Go Up
 


Page created in 0.086 seconds with 21 queries.