ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: DSP amplifier limiter calculation  (Read 6596 times)

Roberto Orozco

DSP amplifier limiter calculation
« on: February 19, 2018, 08:17:39 PM »

hi, I hope somebody can help me with this issue. I recently bought an amplifier module for a pair of speaker cabinets I'm  building. the amplifier comes with DSP features, but is not programmed yet and I'm not sure how to do this. I contacted the manufacturer for help but they just sent me a link to download the software to adjust the different settings of the module. they told me is really easy!  it may be!  for somebody with the knowledge in the field.

I'm not a sound engineer, I been doing the sound with my band (small town band) for some years, we use an analogue mixer to connect all the signals, mixer to crossover, crossover to amps with no DSP, amps to speakers.
I been doing some research about this and looks like the DSP settings of an amplifier are base on the components that I'm going to be using in my cabinets and their specifications.

the amplifier has 3-channels
1500watts-low    500watts-mid    500watts-highs------at 8ohms
1800                  900                  900                 ------at 4ohms
RMS power.

the amp is to power 2 cabinets, each cabinet includes:

1 X 12'' subwoofer  550watts RMS  8ohms
1 X 6''   driver     100watts RMS   8ohms
1 X 1.75''  high frequency driver  100watts RMS  8ohms

if somebody could tell me how to setup the DSP features on the amplifier to use it with this speakers please!

I understand that to calculate the different settings, gain, limiters, crossover points, of the amplifier I need to know the specs of the speakers and the amp. I'll put the pictures attached with the information that the manufacturer gave me for the amp and the information I have from the speakers, I hope this helps.