ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Mercedes Benz Stadium  (Read 1942 times)

Nathan Riddle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1129
  • Niceville, FL
    • Nailed Productions
Mercedes Benz Stadium
« on: February 24, 2018, 06:17:43 pm »

http://www.soundandcommunications.com/mercedes-benz-stadium-drives-future/

In reading this article I had a few questions.

Why Bose modeling software and not EASE?

Why Crown amps and not DNA?

Why were charity events the reason DSL got the install and not proof of performance?
Logged
I'm just a guy trying to do the next right thing.

This business is for people with too much energy for desk jobs and too much brain for labor jobs. - Scott Helmke

Ivan Beaver

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8620
  • Atlanta GA
Re: Mercedes Benz Stadium
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2018, 07:06:16 pm »

http://www.soundandcommunications.com/mercedes-benz-stadium-drives-future/

In reading this article I had a few questions.

Why Bose modeling software and not EASE?

Why Crown amps and not DNA?

Why were charity events the reason DSL got the install and not proof of performance?
I was not in on all of the modeling aspects of the job.

I am not familiar enough with Bose modeler, but I am sure there was a reason, possibly faster prediction time.  For a room like MB, it could take A LONG time to do a decent auralization.

 EASE was also used for various aspects of the job.

The Crown amps were a "left over" from the original consultant design.  The overall system (which is much more than just the "inside the bowl" system) was controlled by Harmon DSPs.  The DNA setup does not currently allow for such large system control.  So it made more sense to have all of the control in the same "platform".

I did transfer functions of the Crown amps DSPs so they matched the DNA amps ahead of the install and set limiters so they matched closely as well.

There were only certain things that were allowed to change from the original design, including loudspeaker locations.  Certain things were "set in stone".

The "proof of performance" came in many factors.  Including other large stadiums performance, and the "lack of performance" of the original proposed system in similar venues.

The various models that allowed listening to the room, seeing arrival times of signals, coverage maps etc and confidence were all part of the final decision.

It was not a decision that came easily, or after a meeting or two or three or four---

Logged
A complex question is easily answered by a simple-easy to understand WRONG answer!

Ivan Beaver
Danley Sound Labs

PHYSICS- NOT FADS!

Caleb Dueck

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 685
    • Amplio Systems
Re: Mercedes Benz Stadium
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2018, 08:56:43 pm »

http://www.soundandcommunications.com/mercedes-benz-stadium-drives-future/

In reading this article I had a few questions.

Why Bose modeling software and not EASE?

Why Crown amps and not DNA?

Why were charity events the reason DSL got the install and not proof of performance?
Coming from a church install background, which I believe you do as well - in addition to some background info Ivan has shared, stadium projects may have an extra layer or three of politics at play because of the future marketing benefits and other con$ideration$.  It's a whole other world from church installs. 

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk

Logged
Experience is something you get right after you need it.

Amplio Systems

Ivan Beaver

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8620
  • Atlanta GA
Re: Mercedes Benz Stadium
« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2018, 11:25:47 am »



Why Bose modeling software and not EASE?


I just talked to the guy that did the modeling.

The original design was done in EASE, but the model was never "closed".

In EASE, without the model being closed, you cannot do auralizations.

The EASE model was exported into Modeler.  Modeler doesn't care about small gaps in the model.

It would have taken much more work to close the EASE model (especially in a space this large) than to put it into Modeler.

So it was a convenience thing.
Logged
A complex question is easily answered by a simple-easy to understand WRONG answer!

Ivan Beaver
Danley Sound Labs

PHYSICS- NOT FADS!
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 


Page created in 0.033 seconds with 22 queries.