ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: How would you light this space for $2000?  (Read 5463 times)

Jeremy D. Clark

How would you light this space for $2000?
« on: January 27, 2018, 01:38:40 PM »

My three piece psychedelic rock/jamband has somewhat of a permanent residency at this place, where the lighting leaves much to be desired. I'm very new to lighting, but have been lurking on this forum and gathering information.

Goals:

• Color washing to make the band clearly visible and provide depth is more important than movers and effects. Positioning ourselves to expand into effects with the infrastructure we buy now would be great though.
  • Something that is portable so we can use it at the other gigs we play, many of which are similar to this one.
  • Controllable if we have someone available to control it, or automated in some fashion if we don't. Open to hardware controllers, laptop approaches, tablets, anything really. But we're not too interested in using foot pedals to control it, because it's hard enough to play, sing and work with our complicated pedal boards for our instruments.

Based on the research I've done so far, my budget puts me in more of the "DJ" tier such as the Chauvet DJ or American DJ product lines, and I've been focusing mostly on hex LED pars from this type of company. That being said, there seem to be quite a few different manufacturers out there, so I'd love to hear about how some of them compare at this price point.

« Last Edit: January 27, 2018, 01:40:41 PM by Jeremy D. Clark »

Jeff Lelko

• Cape Canaveral, FL
Re: How would you light this space for $2000?
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2018, 10:57:17 PM »

Hi Jeremy, welcome to PSW.  I think you have a reasonable goal and budget here, so let me offer a few opinions.  I’m sure others will join in!