ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 3 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: Audix mic on toms  (Read 6142 times)

Mark Schneider

Audix mic on toms
« on: January 22, 2018, 11:01:31 AM »

I will be doing some recording of a large drum kit, and have the Audix D series mics to use for it.  I have never used Audix mics on toms before and need advice, since I won't have much time to play around and experiment.

I see recommendations that the D2 is best on rack toms, and D4 on floor toms.  The drum kit being recorded has 9 total toms (8" to 15" rack toms, 16" & 18" floor toms).  I've got enough of both D2's and D4's at my disposal to use all of one or the other if I choose, or a combination.

The only difference I can ascertain is that the D4 has an extended low frequency response from the D2.  If I have enough D4's for the full kit, is it better to use those on all the toms, even the small ones?  Or is there something the D2 will provide that is better on small and mid toms than the D4 would?

My thought is to use the D4's on all the toms since I have enough, unless there is compelling reason to use the D2's on smaller toms.  Any thoughts?

Tim McCulloch

• SR Forums
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: Audix mic on toms
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2018, 11:39:43 AM »

I will be doing some recording of a large drum kit, and have the Audix D series mics to use for it.  I have never used Audix mics on toms before and need advice, since I won't have much time to play around and experiment.

I see recommendations that the D2 is best on rack toms, and D4 on floor toms.  The drum kit being recorded has 9 total toms (8" to 15" rack toms, 16" & 18" floor toms).  I've got enough of both D2's and D4's at my disposal to use all of one or the other if I choose, or a combination.