ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Distro production?  (Read 3319 times)

David Winners

• Bryan, OH
Distro production?
« on: January 08, 2018, 09:20:45 PM »

After reading the recent Ampshop threads in the Lounge, I'm wondering (A) how someone could screw up something as relatively simple as a stage stringer or distro, and (B) if there is a void in the market so large that a shop doing terrible and dangerous work can exist for years, is there work for someone that should take care of their customers and provide a good/safe product?

I've worked on residential, commercial and industrial electrical systems for decades. I can read and understand code. I'm a small time audio operator, so I would need to familiarize myself with common parts and practices, but that shouldn't be too difficult.

Sounds like I should talk to my lawyer and insurance agent.

Henry Cohen

• Westchester Co., NY, USA
Re: Distro production?
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2018, 09:48:16 PM »

After reading the recent Ampshop threads in the Lounge, I'm wondering (A) how someone could screw up something as relatively simple as a stage stringer or distro, and (B) if there is a void in the market so large that a shop doing terrible and dangerous work can exist for years, is there work for someone that should take care of their customers and provide a good/safe product?

There are plenty of consumers who look for cheap as the primary decision driver, and numerous vendors willing to provide for just that price. The quality, properly designed and built, and listed products manufactured and backed by respectable OEMs are out there, but they're not the cheapest.
Henry Cohen

CP Communications    www.cpcomms.com
Radio Active Designs   www.radioactiverf.com

Ray Aberle

• Classic LAB
  • Located in Vancouver, WA (and serves OR-WA-ID-BC)
    • Kelcema Audio