ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Down

Author Topic: single phase vs 3 phase rac pac power load for amps  (Read 621 times)

Matt Greiner

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 22
Re: single phase vs 3 phase rac pac power load for amps
« Reply #10 on: January 03, 2018, 05:27:53 pm »

I will look into that table as a reference point, thank you Tom. For clarification this is not a 5 wire configuration, it is single phase.  It would be two or three depending on if the neutral counts.
Logged

Rob Spence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 2567
  • Boston Metro North/West
    • Lynx Audio Services
Re: single phase vs 3 phase rac pac power load for amps
« Reply #11 on: January 03, 2018, 05:36:02 pm »

I will look into that table as a reference point, thank you Tom. For clarification this is not a 5 wire configuration, it is single phase.  It would be two or three depending on if the neutral counts.

Also, consider both the actual expected load and the distance. I use 10-4 for my amp rack but it is only 10 and I know I never exceed 20a (have run on 2 20a circuits).



Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
Logged
rob at lynxaudioservices dot com

Dealer for: AKG, Allen & Heath, Ashley, Astatic, Audix, Blue Microphones, CAD, Chauvet, Community, Countryman, Crown, DBX, Electro-Voice, FBT, Furman, Heil, Horizon, Intellistage, JBL, Lab Gruppen, Mid Atlantic, On Stage Stands, Pelican, Peterson Tuners, Presonus, ProCo, QSC, Radial, RCF, Sennheiser, Shure, SKB, Soundcraft, TC Electronics, Telex, Whirlwind and others

Tim McCulloch

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17989
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: single phase vs 3 phase rac pac power load for amps
« Reply #12 on: January 03, 2018, 10:07:59 pm »

10 gauge work for the 30 amps?  Or should I up it to 8 gauge?

I *really* like #8 for 30 Amp circuits if the cable is over 25 ft.  I routinely over-size conductor specifications to minimize voltage drop.

Our arena rigs have #8-5 loomed with the drive snakes for FOH power.
Logged
"Practicing an art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow, for heaven's sake. Sing in the shower. Dance to the radio. Tell stories. Write a poem to a friend, even a lousy poem. Do it as well as you possible can. You will get an enormous reward. You will have created something."  - Kurt Vonnegut

Riley Casey

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1068
Re: single phase vs 3 phase rac pac power load for amps
« Reply #13 on: January 04, 2018, 11:31:09 am »

For all those times you take out the XL3 with dual hot PSUs and two double wide racks of outboard.  When's the last time you put a current clamp on the power lines going to FOH?

I *really* like #8 for 30 Amp circuits if the cable is over 25 ft.  I routinely over-size conductor specifications to minimize voltage drop.

Our arena rigs have #8-5 loomed with the drive snakes for FOH power.

Tim McCulloch

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17989
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: single phase vs 3 phase rac pac power load for amps
« Reply #14 on: January 04, 2018, 02:26:12 pm »

For all those times you take out the XL3 with dual hot PSUs and two double wide racks of outboard.  When's the last time you put a current clamp on the power lines going to FOH?

It was the PM4000, but close enough!  These days it could be a run of 12-3 and eventually it might be just that.  The 250' of 8-5 might become amp rack power cables for our next rig....
Logged
"Practicing an art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow, for heaven's sake. Sing in the shower. Dance to the radio. Tell stories. Write a poem to a friend, even a lousy poem. Do it as well as you possible can. You will get an enormous reward. You will have created something."  - Kurt Vonnegut

TJ (Tom) Cornish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 3912
  • St. Paul, MN
Re: single phase vs 3 phase rac pac power load for amps
« Reply #15 on: January 04, 2018, 02:38:38 pm »

These days it could be a run of 12-3 and eventually it might be just that. 
The large (for me) power distro order I just placed is largely for L14-20 distribution (and a couple Cali's).  What I like about L14-20 is you can use 12/4 wire, get either 2 120v or one 208v circuit per cord, and no downstream circuit breakers needed. 

IMO the various 30A standards are outdated - pretty much anything that requires more than 20A at 120v runs better at 208v anyway, and the 30A size is awkward for a lot of things - not large enough for two heavily loaded 20A circuits per leg, additional cable size requirements, large/expensive breakout boxes, etc. 
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Up
 


Page created in 0.036 seconds with 16 queries.