ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: Multi-voltage Distro  (Read 915 times)

Pierre Foster

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 52
Multi-voltage Distro
« on: December 27, 2017, 11:41:27 pm »

I have searched high and low for a Distro (preferably rack mount) that meets my needs but I am starting to think that what I seek does not meet code so it isn't offered.

The input of the Distro is not as important as the output but generally I use 50a CS from generators. My problem is that I need a mix of 120v and 240v outlets as my amplifiers are all 240v but other rack equipment is 120v.

If this configuration is against code then I understand completely but if not can someone point in the right direction if such a distro exists.
Logged

Mark Cadwallader

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 966
  • Helena, Montana USA
Re: Multi-voltage Distro
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2017, 02:02:00 am »

Yes, you can get distro assemblies with both 240v and 120v recepticles. Motion Labs is one reliable brand; Indu-Electric is another. Both make listed, code compliant devices. Whether or not they have a standard model that meets your needs is another question. You might need a custom panel to give you what you want.
Logged
"Good tools are expensive, but cheap tools are damned expensive."

Pierre Foster

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 52
Re: Multi-voltage Distro
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2017, 09:50:04 am »

Yes, you can get distro assemblies with both 240v and 120v recepticles. Motion Labs is one reliable brand; Indu-Electric is another. Both make listed, code compliant devices. Whether or not they have a standard model that meets your needs is another question. You might need a custom panel to give you what you want.

Thanks for that info Mark glad to know I'm not in search of some mythical creature. I did also find a company after my initial post called Entertainment metals that seems to sell all the components to build my own rac pac. I know the first concern will be the fact it isn't UL listed however I am in the Cayman Islands and while we do have electrical inspectors I would be fine with one of these self built racpac's
Logged

Tim McCulloch

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18005
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: Multi-voltage Distro
« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2017, 11:11:01 am »

Thanks for that info Mark glad to know I'm not in search of some mythical creature. I did also find a company after my initial post called Entertainment metals that seems to sell all the components to build my own rac pac. I know the first concern will be the fact it isn't UL listed however I am in the Cayman Islands and while we do have electrical inspectors I would be fine with one of these self built racpac's

IIRC, *assemblies* from Entertainment Metals are UL Listed.  I suggest a phone call to them if Listing is a requirement down in the Islands.
Logged
"Practicing an art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow, for heaven's sake. Sing in the shower. Dance to the radio. Tell stories. Write a poem to a friend, even a lousy poem. Do it as well as you possible can. You will get an enormous reward. You will have created something."  - Kurt Vonnegut

Ray Aberle

  • Classic LAB
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3104
  • Located in Vancouver, WA (and serves OR-WA-ID-BC)
    • Kelcema Audio
Re: Multi-voltage Distro
« Reply #4 on: December 28, 2017, 11:18:29 am »

I did a generator rental recently where the electrical inspector was satisfied just based on the distro being UL-listed. Never mind the "Indoor Use Only" printed right next to the UL-Listed mark, and we were outside, in between rain showers.... haha. Oh well. Didn't notice, or didn't care.

As alluded to, "UL-Listed" =/= "Code Compliant." Your AHJ may have certain expectations that, if you don't meet, will end poorly.

As for ML, WhirlWind, EMG, etc- for an assembly to be UL listed, they have to submit the overall design of (the distro, rackpack, etc) to the UL people for certification. So, they're less apt to do truly custom work (as in a RackPack that takes a special connector in or creates a special mix of outputs, beyond what they already have publicized on their website), since the UL-certification would be cost prohibitive for a one-off or limited production run item.

So, it depends on the style of connector you need for the 240V connection. You may also find it easier to purchase an off-the-shelf unit and just swap out the one connector you need to change. (I know many people with typical "construction" spider boxes will swap the L6-30 out for an L14-30, since in this area, AV peeps CAN use L14-30 but probably CANNOT use L6-30.)

-Ray
Logged
Kelcema Audio
Regional - Serving Pacific Northwest (OR, WA, ID, BC)

Pierre Foster

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 52
Re: Multi-voltage Distro
« Reply #5 on: December 28, 2017, 11:50:07 am »

IIRC, *assemblies* from Entertainment Metals are UL Listed.  I suggest a phone call to them if Listing is a requirement down in the Islands.

Thanks Tim, listing is not a requirement however I do still want to be safe. I have sent them an email so let's see if they respond.
Logged

Pierre Foster

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 52
Re: Multi-voltage Distro
« Reply #6 on: December 28, 2017, 11:55:13 am »

I did a generator rental recently where the electrical inspector was satisfied just based on the distro being UL-listed. Never mind the "Indoor Use Only" printed right next to the UL-Listed mark, and we were outside, in between rain showers.... haha. Oh well. Didn't notice, or didn't care.

As alluded to, "UL-Listed" =/= "Code Compliant." Your AHJ may have certain expectations that, if you don't meet, will end poorly.

As for ML, WhirlWind, EMG, etc- for an assembly to be UL listed, they have to submit the overall design of (the distro, rackpack, etc) to the UL people for certification. So, they're less apt to do truly custom work (as in a RackPack that takes a special connector in or creates a special mix of outputs, beyond what they already have publicized on their website), since the UL-certification would be cost prohibitive for a one-off or limited production run item.

So, it depends on the style of connector you need for the 240V connection. You may also find it easier to purchase an off-the-shelf unit and just swap out the one connector you need to change. (I know many people with typical "construction" spider boxes will swap the L6-30 out for an L14-30, since in this area, AV peeps CAN use L14-30 but probably CANNOT use L6-30.)

-Ray

Thanks Ray, I definitely understand why companies would be reluctant to stray away from their off the shelf designs. What I need isn't very complicated and there are man industrial spider boxes out there that offer what I want. I'm just having a hard time finding it in a rack mounted version.
Logged

Henry Cohen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 672
  • Westchester Co., NY, USA
Re: Multi-voltage Distro
« Reply #7 on: December 28, 2017, 12:27:53 pm »

Yes, you can get distro assemblies with both 240v and 120v recepticles. Motion Labs is one reliable brand; Indu-Electric is another. Both make listed, code compliant devices. Whether or not they have a standard model that meets your needs is another question. You might need a custom panel to give you what you want.

Motion Labs RaC Pac
Whirlwind catalog, page 7.
Lex Products
Logged
Henry Cohen

CP Communications    www.cpcomms.com
Radio Active Designs   www.radioactiverf.com

Mark Cadwallader

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 966
  • Helena, Montana USA
Re: Multi-voltage Distro
« Reply #8 on: December 29, 2017, 01:34:39 pm »

Pierre, depending on the exact configuration you need, you might consider two panels: the first for 240v, and a second with 120v, both using a CS 50A in and thru so they can be "daisy chained" together.  That "off the shelf" combo might be cost-effective, especially if you want to use fully listed assemblies in a rack mount format.

As an example, you can look to see how 200A 3-phase distos mix and match panels to provide a mix of recepticles. Your solution would omit the 3-phase feeder panel, of course.

Logged
"Good tools are expensive, but cheap tools are damned expensive."

Pierre Foster

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 52
Re: Multi-voltage Distro
« Reply #9 on: December 30, 2017, 09:06:59 pm »

Pierre, depending on the exact configuration you need, you might consider two panels: the first for 240v, and a second with 120v, both using a CS 50A in and thru so they can be "daisy chained" together.  That "off the shelf" combo might be cost-effective, especially if you want to use fully listed assemblies in a rack mount format.

As an example, you can look to see how 200A 3-phase distos mix and match panels to provide a mix of recepticles. Your solution would omit the 3-phase feeder panel, of course.

Thanks for this Mark, I think you fully understand what I am trying to achieve. None of the companies listed previously offer a single rack mount unit that accepts a 50a cs and has a mix of 120v and 240v outlets. Purchasing one of each may be the only way to go. 
Logged

Mike Sokol

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3076
  • Lead instructor for the No~Shock~Zone
    • No~Shock~Zone Electrical Safety
Re: Multi-voltage Distro
« Reply #10 on: December 31, 2017, 07:53:55 am »

Yes, you can get distro assemblies with both 240v and 120v recepticles. Motion Labs is one reliable brand; Indu-Electric is another. Both make listed, code compliant devices. Whether or not they have a standard model that meets your needs is another question. You might need a custom panel to give you what you want.

Whirlwind makes all kinds of custom rack-mount distro panels with both 120-volt and 240-volt receptacles. You can get Edison or PowerCon outlets on the 120-volt side, as well as a variety of twist-lock and feed-thru configurations. See http://whirlwindusa.com/catalog/power-electrical-distribution/distro/plr-distros for the catalog.   
Logged
Mike Sokol
mike@noshockzone.org
www.NoShockZone.org

TJ (Tom) Cornish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3915
  • St. Paul, MN
Re: Multi-voltage Distro
« Reply #11 on: January 03, 2018, 04:13:58 pm »

As for ML, WhirlWind, EMG, etc- for an assembly to be UL listed, they have to submit the overall design of (the distro, rackpack, etc) to the UL people for certification. So, they're less apt to do truly custom work (as in a RackPack that takes a special connector in or creates a special mix of outputs, beyond what they already have publicized on their website), since the UL-certification would be cost prohibitive for a one-off or limited production run item.
I am not a UL expert, but I just submitted an order to Whirlwind for several power distribution items, none of which are specifically listed on their catalog (different combinations of IO than stock modules), but all will be UL-listed.  Apparently they don't have to submit each detailed config to UL if they follow certain construction parameters.

On a related note, Whirlwind's new SKB case distros might be good options for a lot of people - half the price of a rack distro and 20% of the weight.  No main breaker and no metering, but a nice intermediate step between spider boxes and full-bore rack distros.

http://whirlwindusa.com/catalog/power-electrical-distribution/distro?product-family=plr-skb
Logged

Pierre Foster

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 52
Re: Multi-voltage Distro
« Reply #12 on: January 04, 2018, 04:31:24 pm »

Thanks for all the info guys, I think I just need to look at my power needs differently. What I had in mind would likely have to be a custom build so it's back to the drawing board for me.
Logged

TJ (Tom) Cornish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3915
  • St. Paul, MN
Re: Multi-voltage Distro
« Reply #13 on: January 04, 2018, 05:15:42 pm »

Thanks for all the info guys, I think I just need to look at my power needs differently. What I had in mind would likely have to be a custom build so it's back to the drawing board for me.
As I posted above, custom isn't necessarily prohibitive, assuming what you want is a legal configuration.  Call up Whirlwind and/or MotionLabs and I'm sure they can both help you.
Logged

brian maddox

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1566
Re: Multi-voltage Distro
« Reply #14 on: January 04, 2018, 07:57:13 pm »

As I posted above, custom isn't necessarily prohibitive, assuming what you want is a legal configuration.  Call up Whirlwind and/or MotionLabs and I'm sure they can both help you.

Our company recently had a custom distro built by MotionLabs and i was SHOCKED at how cheap it was.  I've used their stuff for decades but i've always thought it was much more expensive than it actually is.

Granted, it was someone else paying for it.  They might not have seen it precisely as i did....
Logged
brian maddox
11brian.maddox11@gmail.com

'...do not trifle with affairs of dragons...

       ....for you are crunchy, and taste good with ketchup...'
Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Up
 


Page created in 0.038 seconds with 18 queries.