ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Moving Head DMX Communication Issue  (Read 2569 times)

Chris Poynter

• www.chrispoynter.ca
Moving Head DMX Communication Issue
« on: December 17, 2017, 10:25:13 PM »

Hi everyone,

I am hoping there is someone in here who has experience with the internals of moving heads.

The Context
My mobile DJ set-up is two Chauvet Intimidator Spot 355z IRC moving heads, one ADJ Warlock, and four ADJ Dotz Pars. I have them all on a T-Bar, and I control them with ADJ's myDMX 3.0 software. I use two ADJ WiFly Battery EXR transceivers to control the fixtures wirelessly.

I've been using these fixtures for about two years now, 100+ gigs, without any issues.

The Problem
I had two gigs this weekend, and one of my Intimidator Spot movers started flashing when it should not have been flashing. It was following all my programmed movements / colours / gobos just fine, but the LED was flicking on and off the whole time. The best I can describe it is as a pulse, or a super duper slow strobe.

At my gig on Friday, it seemed to help for a few minutes when I disconnected and reconnected power to the fixture, but then it would eventually revert to the pulsing again.

At my gig on Saturday, it pulsed the whole time, so I ended up turning it off.

The Troubleshooting
I set up my two movers at home today, and put them both into stand-alone mode, not connected to each other or anything else. I just let them run for half an hour and they both worked fine the whole time.

Next, I connected the "good" fixture (by itself) with a short DMX cable, directly to the myDMX dongle, and ran some shows for awhile. Everything was fine.

Then, I connected the "bad" fixture (by itself) with a short DMX cable, directly to the myDMX dongle, and ran some shows for awhile. It did the terrible pulsing thing the entire time.