Sound Reinforcement - Forums for Live Sound Professionals - Your Displayed Name Must Be Your Real Full Name To Post In The Live Sound Forums > AC Power and Grounding

Audio Activated Relay and AC Voltage

(1/3) > >>

Alex Davis:
Hi all,
     I'm new at this stuff so please forgive me where I seem ignorant! I created a small circuit with a relay and timer such that when audio output from my radio scanner is detected, a bell will ring and a light will come on (think waking people up at a fire station for a dispatched emergency).

The relay is activated by the ~4v AC I get when the radio is active by taking a stereo 3.5mm jack out of the stereo headphone jack on the radio. It's 0v AC when radio is silent.  This plug terminates in a dual RCA connection with the right channel attached to a speaker and the left stripped down with the positive wire linked to my relay. It works great!

Now the issue: I swapped this radio out for an older model capable of the same functions and- according to the manuals- the same headphone jack (3.5mm stereo 6mW at 32ohm).

When I try to read voltage off of my audio out wire now this is what I see: when I power the unit on, I get 8vAC and then it slowly falls to zero. After that, I get no voltage reading even when the radio is active, but I do get the sound just fine (since I have the Right RCA jack plugged in to a speaker). I did try to read voltage off the male end of right channel rca that I know delivers sound to the speaker and I get the exact same result.

I feel like the issue has to do with the grounding in this particular radio, but I'm not knowledgeable enough to figure it out (could also be totally wrong).

Anyone have any ideas what could cause this phenomenon? As soon as I swap the radios back everything works fine with no changes (including any setting or config on the meter). Any tests you'd like me to run to help?

Thank you all so much in advance!
Alex

Alex Davis: