Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: IEM  (Read 5130 times)

Joe Nane

IEM
« on: November 09, 2017, 09:04:17 PM »

Hey guys,

Looking for some help on an IEM setup as my bands are currently looking to move away from wedges. I'm a studio engineer, and I've been somewhat sheltered from most aspects of live sound so I've been doing lots of reading on this, and although I have the grasp of it, i'm still puzzled by parts.

Basically, we are a four piece band and we would like to feed two stereo mixes to the stage - the drummer will have his own mix, and the bass and two guitarists will share the same mix.

We are going with a wired system, and would like something we can place on our our pedal boards to accept the stereo signal from the desk, ideally with a monitor control and limiter. My friend can make us custom dual guitar / headphone extension cable, so I'm thinking of something (like a headphone amp?) we can place on our pedal boards and plug IEMs into, whilst running the guitar end into our pedal chain. This will get rid of cable clutter as it will essentially be like running one cable to (roughly) the same place

Questions

1. Does anyone know of a relatively hassle free stereo setup that could do what I'm after? Equip models would be great.

2. How would this be set up (ie - running the same mix to three people) I would like to keep stage equipment for this as minimal as possible.

3. I know how we can run an extremely easy mono system (with UE soundtaps) so is stereo worth all the extra hassle I assume it will bring?

It's worth bearing in mind that we're a touring band that will be relying on different engineers every night. Would setting up two stereo mixes be a pain for a lot of live engineers?

Cheers in advance
J

Simon Lewis

Re: IEM
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2017, 04:41:44 AM »