ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Yamaha LS9 + Behringer Stage box + CARD???  (Read 1021 times)

Brian Strike

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Yamaha LS9 + Behringer Stage box + CARD???
« on: November 05, 2017, 11:26:36 am »

Hi all,

This may be a newbie question for some of you but I'm entering new territory here and am a bit confused.

I've been mixing on a Yamaha LS9-32 for probably 8 years.   I plan to keep this board - I'm very comfortable on it and know my way around it well.  I"ve got it set up with iPad, etc.   and don't have a need to upgrade my board to anything else at this time. 

I've been using a traditional analog snake (Whirlwind 24/8) and would like to upgrade to a digital stage box to run Cat5e instead of a giant analog snake.  Also, I'm interested in looking into the Behringer P16 monitor mixing stations.  I've heard they're decent.  We want to update into something with a little more independent control than my current monitor set up, which is just 4 separate monitor mixes running through wedges. 

I have no experience with the card that I need to install in the back of the LS9, so I'm curious as to how to best set this up.  In other words, I don't want to spend a lot of money until I understand how to make the LS9 "talk to" the Behringer Digital Stage box, using whatever kind of card I need to purchase and put into the card slot in the back of the LS9. 
What kind of card do I need to install in this LS9 to interface with the Behringer digital stage box?  I want to use the Behringer stage box in particular so that it interfaces well with the Behringer P16 monitoring stations.  I know that the Behringer stage box requires a board with AES50 technology - this means nothing to me.  Is there a certain "card" that I need to enter into the LS9 to accept AES50 technology and mate the LS9 with the Behringer? 
Is there any other place where anyone can point me to learn about this type of stuff?  I've been doing sound (self taught) for 20 years, used a digital board for the past 8, but the cat5e stuff, digital stage boxes, I/O cards are new.....

Thanks so much!!
Logged

Riley Casey

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 1046
Re: Yamaha LS9 + Behringer Stage box + CARD???
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2017, 12:42:37 pm »

Can't get there from here.  If you want a digital stage box for your LS9 your need to buy Yamaha stage boxes.  Your two card slots would permit 32 inputs but if you want head amp control from the surface of the console only the Ethersound boxes will do that.  When using the Dante boxes mic pre control would have to come from a computer. 

http://www.yamahaproaudio.com/northamerica/en_us/products/mixers/ls9/features.jsp#dante

 
Hi all,

This may be a newbie question for some of you but I'm entering new territory here and am a bit confused.

I've been mixing on a Yamaha LS9-32 for probably 8 years.   I plan to keep this board - I'm very comfortable on it and know my way around it well.  I"ve got it set up with iPad, etc.   and don't have a need to upgrade my board to anything else at this time.  ...

Keith Broughton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2447
  • Toronto
Re: Yamaha LS9 + Behringer Stage box + CARD???
« Reply #2 on: November 05, 2017, 12:56:07 pm »

As Riley said, it's a no go.
Other than the user controlled monitor system, I see no benefit to changing to a digital head if you already have a multi channel snake.
Logged
I don't care enough to be apathetic

Robert Lofgren

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 481
Re: Yamaha LS9 + Behringer Stage box + CARD???
« Reply #3 on: November 05, 2017, 01:30:05 pm »

Use the p16i on your ls9 if you want to use that monitor system.

Unless you plan on getting a m/x32 anytime soon I donít see any benefit in getting a behringer/midas stagebox.
Logged

Brian Strike

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: Yamaha LS9 + Behringer Stage box + CARD???
« Reply #4 on: November 05, 2017, 01:39:15 pm »

Use the p16i on your ls9 if you want to use that monitor system.

Unless you plan on getting a m/x32 anytime soon I donít see any benefit in getting a behringer/midas stagebox.

Thanks everyone - Robert, if I use the P16i isn't that also going to cause the same non-communicative issues with the LS9 as the Digital stage box? 
Are you suggesting that I use the P16i to connect all inputs, then send ethernet to the P16M stations and then one ethernet to the LS9 for master mixer control for FOH? 

Thanks again everyone - like I said, this is all new to me and I want to make sure I don't spend money on something that won't work.
Logged

Ron Bolte

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17
  • Mmmmm.. ok...
Re: Yamaha LS9 + Behringer Stage box + CARD???
« Reply #5 on: November 05, 2017, 01:48:48 pm »

If you are only looking for 16 channels over cat5e/6, consider the TIO1608 with the MY18 AUD card, its head amps can be controlled by the LS9, its a bit wonky, as the head amps show up as a "rack" effect, but it does work.

Seriously though, if all you are looking for is more monitor options with your LS9, try out the "Monitor Mix" app for iPad, with a wifi hotspot connected to your LS9, it supports as many mixes as you have available, on as many iPads.
Logged

Brian Strike

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: Yamaha LS9 + Behringer Stage box + CARD???
« Reply #6 on: November 05, 2017, 02:04:58 pm »

If you are only looking for 16 channels over cat5e/6, consider the TIO1608 with the MY18 AUD card, its head amps can be controlled by the LS9, its a bit wonky, as the head amps show up as a "rack" effect, but it does work.

Seriously though, if all you are looking for is more monitor options with your LS9, try out the "Monitor Mix" app for iPad, with a wifi hotspot connected to your LS9, it supports as many mixes as you have available, on as many iPads.


Thanks Ron - never used the MonitorMix app - good suggestion!! I'm going to look into that.  I use Stagemix to mix FOH from my iPad, so perhaps this is a great solution.   
Logged

brian maddox

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1509
Re: Yamaha LS9 + Behringer Stage box + CARD???
« Reply #7 on: November 05, 2017, 03:45:06 pm »

...

Is there any other place where anyone can point me to learn about this type of stuff?  I've been doing sound (self taught) for 20 years, used a digital board for the past 8, but the cat5e stuff, digital stage boxes, I/O cards are new.....

Thanks so much!!

Everything the others wrote on this thread was absolutely correct and good advice.  But i don't think it really filled in the gaps in your basic knowledge on the subject.  So i'm going to try to semi-succinctly do just that.  So here goes...

1.   There are several competing "digital audio over Cat5/6 cable" protocols.  For the most part they are all incompatible with each other, and that's by design since they are typically proprietary to a manufacturer who is wanting to keep you in their eco-system as much as possible.  Even when you do find a protocol that will 'talk' to several different manufacturers products, there are often hidden 'gotchas' like remote control of Mic Preamps and the like.

2.  AES50 is a Midas/Behringer/The Music Group protocol and Yamaha does not make a product for their consoles that will interface with it since they want to steer you to their preferred protocols, namely Ethersound [Their originally preferred format] and Dante [their currently preferred format].

3.  The Music Group DOES make a card compatible with Dante for their X32 series of consoles. Dante is becoming the closest thing to a universal format that we've got currently.  The X32 series also has a direct output to feed the P16 Personal Monitoring System so that's a bonus.  You can also get Dante cards that work with the LS9.  So you could theoretically use an X32 console as your monitor console and have that feed your LS9 via Dante.

but...  Here's the gotcha...

You cannot control the mic pre's on the X32 directly from the LS9.  You'd have to use some kind of software control for that.  and....

You would need TWO Yamaha Dante cards since the Yamaha card slot only supports up to 16 Ins and Outs [The x32 card slot supports 32].  And the Yamaha cards are about 600 US a piece.  Add to that the cost of an X32 with it's associated Dante card and the costs add up quick.

So for these reasons, sticking with the LS9 as your preferred console but replacing your copper snake with a digital one is unfortunately more costly and complicated than it probably should be. 

I hope that helps explain the already great advice you've been given a little more. 

Good Luck!
Logged
brian maddox
11brian.maddox11@gmail.com

'...do not trifle with affairs of dragons...

       ....for you are crunchy, and taste good with ketchup...'

brian maddox

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1509
Re: Yamaha LS9 + Behringer Stage box + CARD???
« Reply #8 on: November 05, 2017, 03:54:41 pm »

Thanks everyone - Robert, if I use the P16i isn't that also going to cause the same non-communicative issues with the LS9 as the Digital stage box? 
Are you suggesting that I use the P16i to connect all inputs, then send ethernet to the P16M stations and then one ethernet to the LS9 for master mixer control for FOH? 

Thanks again everyone - like I said, this is all new to me and I want to make sure I don't spend money on something that won't work.

The P16 system runs on a protocol called Ultranet which is currently limited to 16 channels in one direction.  It is intended to specifically feed the P16 Personal Mixers although they do sell some speakers that will take it as an input.  You could use an MY-Adat card in your LS9 paired with a P16i to feed P16 mixers on stage via a Cat5/6 cable.  But...  There is NO Ultranet solution that i know of that would provide a replacement for your copper snake.

Also note:  Almost none of the digital audio protocols are Ethernet compatible.  They are proprietary formats and will NOT work with standard Ethernet switches/routers/etc.  The exception to this is Dante which explains why it is becoming so popular.
Logged
brian maddox
11brian.maddox11@gmail.com

'...do not trifle with affairs of dragons...

       ....for you are crunchy, and taste good with ketchup...'

Erik Jerde

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 418
Re: Yamaha LS9 + Behringer Stage box + CARD???
« Reply #9 on: November 05, 2017, 05:32:07 pm »

Also note:  Almost none of the digital audio protocols are Ethernet compatible.  They are proprietary formats and will NOT work with standard Ethernet switches/routers/etc.  The exception to this is Dante which explains why it is becoming so popular.

I believe Roland's REAC can run over an ip switched network.  Haven't tried it but there is a reac driver software available that then allows you to capture the reac stream via the Ethernet card on a standard pc.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Up
 


Page created in 0.077 seconds with 19 queries.