ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Troublesome frequent client  (Read 4213 times)

Adam Ellsworth

• AirFader
Troublesome frequent client
« on: October 25, 2017, 05:19:26 PM »

So... people near me are gonna figure this out pretty quick, but hopefully they'll ignore it.

I've been working with a newly-built venue for almost 4 years as a contract sound provider... we provide all gear and techs on a per-event charge but much of the gear is semi-permanently installed. It should be a good arrangement and this venue provides more than half of my entire business.

We primarily do concerts and that goes very smoothly as I work directly with the concert promoter. We can do those all day long. But the venue also hosts some corporate events/meetings/presentations where I work directly with the venue owner who is between me and the event organizer. Or rather, the venue owner doesn't work with me. I frequently either don't find out about events until a day or two beforehand by accident... or the event requirements are collected from the client but not shared with me at all.

Most recently I was led to believe an event simply needed a podium mic and a projector... the night before the event I discovered they needed 2 countryman mics, 2 handhelds, several power points and even some light cues. The client says this was advanced weeks ago and I'm often in a difficult position where I have to be professional and rush to make the event happen while not completely throwing the venue under the bus. I suspect I'm being occasionally thrown under the bus for things I was never asked to do, although clients figure out pretty fast where the problem is.