ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: connect zoom h1 to mixer  (Read 455 times)

Jon Roelfs

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24
connect zoom h1 to mixer
« on: October 16, 2017, 12:40:14 pm »

I was given a Zoom H1 and told to record sermons. My question is, how do I properly connect a Zoom H1 to a Soundcraft MPMi 12/2?  I would like to use AUX2 which is set to post fade. This currently feeds an overflow room separate from the sanctuary. The AUX2 is balanced mono and the zoom looks to be unbalanced stereo. This is the part I can't quite wrap my head around. The input on the zoom is a 1/8" mic/line jack. It looks like this is changed by adjusting the input level. Higher numbers for a mic input and lower for a line input.
Logged

Jean-Pierre Coetzee

  • Classic LAB
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 562
  • Gauteng, South Africa
Re: connect zoom h1 to mixer
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2017, 01:36:42 pm »

1/8" jack to 1/4" jack cable, TS not TRS, alternatively wire a TRS - TRS:

1/4"            1/8"
T        --->   T & R
R        --->   S
S        --->   S

Other option would be go out of the record or whatever out is on that desk that has RCA outputs.
Logged
Audio Technician
Word & Life Church

"If you want "loud", then run a piece of sheet metal through a table saw------

If you want "watts"-then plug in a toaster"
- Ivan Beaver

Jon Roelfs

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24
Re: connect zoom h1 to mixer
« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2017, 03:01:46 pm »

Other option would be go out of the record or whatever out is on that desk that has RCA outputs.
The board has RCA outs for the main mix only. I need to record a separate mix from AUX2.
Logged

Jean-Pierre Coetzee

  • Classic LAB
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 562
  • Gauteng, South Africa
Re: connect zoom h1 to mixer
« Reply #3 on: October 17, 2017, 11:38:43 am »

The board has RCA outs for the main mix only. I need to record a separate mix from AUX2.

See the rest of my post that explained how to wire a cable that will work for your needs.

You cannot get a mono source to output stereo, just to be clear.
Logged
Audio Technician
Word & Life Church

"If you want "loud", then run a piece of sheet metal through a table saw------

If you want "watts"-then plug in a toaster"
- Ivan Beaver

Jon Roelfs

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24
Re: connect zoom h1 to mixer
« Reply #4 on: October 17, 2017, 11:17:44 pm »

I was thinking I needed to run it through a DI box backwards to convert the signal from balanced to unbalanced. The manual for the Zoom is more of a quick start guide and not very detailed.
1/8" jack to 1/4" jack cable, TS not TRS, alternatively wire a TRS - TRS:

1/4"            1/8"
T        --->   T & R
R        --->   S
S        --->   S
I will find someone to make the above TRS to TRS cable. The connections need to be jumpered on the respective sides listed above correct? What kind of signal will this present to the Zoom? Would this be like dual mono? I think the zoom records in stereo only. I don't want one channel with sound and the other with nothing.
« Last Edit: October 18, 2017, 12:19:29 am by Jon Roelfs »
Logged

Jean-Pierre Coetzee

  • Classic LAB
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 562
  • Gauteng, South Africa
Re: connect zoom h1 to mixer
« Reply #5 on: October 18, 2017, 02:40:13 am »

This should be dual mono. If you really want to a transformer is the best way to go but also expensive for something so small.

I'd rather spend the money on another recorder with balanced inputs.

Sent from my 2014817 using Tapatalk

Logged
Audio Technician
Word & Life Church

"If you want "loud", then run a piece of sheet metal through a table saw------

If you want "watts"-then plug in a toaster"
- Ivan Beaver

g'bye, Dick Rees

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7424
  • Duluth
Re: connect zoom h1 to mixer
« Reply #6 on: October 18, 2017, 05:21:09 am »

Use the post-fader aux for your main program feed and use your RCA mains recording feed for...recording. 

This is the quickest way to get the two mixes you want AND utilize the outputs and inputs on your gear without special cabling.
« Last Edit: October 18, 2017, 11:18:18 am by dick rees »
Logged
Pay no attention to the man behind the curtain...

Jean-Pierre Coetzee

  • Classic LAB
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 562
  • Gauteng, South Africa
Re: connect zoom h1 to mixer
« Reply #7 on: October 19, 2017, 01:52:02 pm »

Use the post-fader aux for your main program feed and use your RCA mains recording feed for...recording. 

This is the quickest way to get the two mixes you want AND utilize the outputs and inputs on your gear without special cabling.

Dick your nickname is broken. Please change your Name to your Full name and surname.
Logged
Audio Technician
Word & Life Church

"If you want "loud", then run a piece of sheet metal through a table saw------

If you want "watts"-then plug in a toaster"
- Ivan Beaver
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 


Page created in 0.131 seconds with 15 queries.