ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: AES cables  (Read 606 times)

Dave Garoutte

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 594
  • San Rafael, CA
AES cables
« on: October 11, 2017, 08:35:35 pm »

Hi all,

I have an event this weekend where I need to run the four monitors from my Soundcraft Mini Stagebox AES outs to D/A boxes to the monitors. 
Can I use my Canare star quad cables, or should I use the Chauvet DMX cables? 
It will be a 30-50 foot run.

Thanks
Logged
Events. 
Stage, PA, Lighting and Backline rentals.
Chauvet dealer.
Inventor.

Mac Kerr

  • Old enough to know better
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5610
  • Audio Plumber
Re: AES cables
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2017, 08:55:16 pm »

Hi all,

I have an event this weekend where I need to run the four monitors from my Soundcraft Mini Stagebox AES outs to D/A boxes to the monitors. 
Can I use my Canare star quad cables, or should I use the Chauvet DMX cables? 
It will be a 30-50 foot run.

Thanks

Do not use Star Quad. If the DMX cables meet the DMX spec they also meet the AES3 spec.

Mac
Logged

Mark Cadwallader

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 923
  • Helena, Montana USA
Re: AES cables
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2017, 08:55:41 pm »

Assuming that the "DMX" cables have a 3 pin XLR connector (actual DMX protocol calls for 5 pin), then yes, the DMX data cables meet the AES data specifications.

As a general statement, data cable is fine for mic usage, but mic cable is not recommended for data usage.  You can sometimes get away with mic cable for data use, but I wouldn't use it if I had a better option.
Logged
"Good tools are expensive, but cheap tools are damned expensive."

Robert Lunceford

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 186
Re: AES cables
« Reply #3 on: October 11, 2017, 10:43:00 pm »

Hi all,

I have an event this weekend where I need to run the four monitors from my Soundcraft Mini Stagebox AES outs to D/A boxes to the monitors. 
Can I use my Canare star quad cables, or should I use the Chauvet DMX cables? 
It will be a 30-50 foot run.

Thanks

Hi Dave,
Dave Rat did a test of AES digital signal over standard mic cable, AES cable, and Cat5. According to his results, standard mic cable will work as well as AES cable for your 50 foot runs.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v-qoZPKsLDs

Logged

Andrew Hollis

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 41
Re: AES cables
« Reply #4 on: October 11, 2017, 11:23:07 pm »

DMX is not 110Ω, so if it did not work, I would not be surprised.
Logged

David Sturzenbecher

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1222
    • Sturz Audio
Re: AES cables
« Reply #5 on: October 11, 2017, 11:38:36 pm »

DMX is not 110Ω, so if it did not work, I would not be surprised.
10% tolerance should be way more than good enough for the OPs application.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Logged
CTS-D, CTS-I
AES Full Member

Mac Kerr

  • Old enough to know better
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5610
  • Audio Plumber
Re: AES cables
« Reply #6 on: October 12, 2017, 09:07:47 am »

DMX is not 110Ω, so if it did not work, I would not be surprised.

It's a hell of a lot closer than STP mic cable, or even worse Star Quad.

Mac
Logged

Matthew Knischewsky

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 239
Re: AES cables
« Reply #7 on: October 12, 2017, 11:24:21 am »

Hi Dave,
Dave Rat did a test of AES digital signal over standard mic cable, AES cable, and Cat5. According to his results, standard mic cable will work as well as AES cable for your 50 foot runs.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v-qoZPKsLDs

While Dave Rat's test is an interesting experiment, it's far from definitive. Passing tone for a second or 2 at a time on the bench is not how AES interconnect is used in the real world. Best practice would be plan to use the correct cable when you can, but know that standard mic cable might be a solution when other options are limited.
Logged

Matthew Knischewsky

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 239
Re: AES cables
« Reply #8 on: October 12, 2017, 11:34:07 am »

DMX is not 110Ω, so if it did not work, I would not be surprised.

DMX spec is for 120 ohm cable but in practice DMX Cable is often 110 ohm.
Logged

Tim McCulloch

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17502
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: AES cables
« Reply #9 on: October 12, 2017, 11:57:15 am »

DMX is not 110Ω, so if it did not work, I would not be surprised.

Uh... no.

DMX has specifications for both 120 Ohm and 100 Ohm nominal impedance; the key word is 'nominal' as impedance will vary with frequency. 
« Last Edit: October 12, 2017, 01:00:17 pm by Tim McCulloch »
Logged
"Practicing an art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow, for heaven's sake. Sing in the shower. Dance to the radio. Tell stories. Write a poem to a friend, even a lousy poem. Do it as well as you possible can. You will get an enormous reward. You will have created something."  - Kurt Vonnegut
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Up
 


Page created in 0.074 seconds with 18 queries.