ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Burning Man Generator  (Read 4217 times)

Mike Sokol

• Lead instructor for the No~Shock~Zone
    • No~Shock~Zone Electrical Safety
Burning Man Generator
« on: September 12, 2017, 06:56:13 AM »

I just got this email from an RV technician who had hooked up generators at Burning Man. He doesn't seem to understand the basics of 3-phase power and how neutrals and bonding works which makes it very dangerous. I don't have time answer him in detail this morning, but at first blush it sounds like an open neutral somewhere, NOT a bonding issue. What are your thoughts?

==================================

Mike,

I just returned home from Burning Man with a fleet of rental RVs.  I am an RV technician and semi electrician.  I lay power grids at Burning Man, but always use the single phase setting on construction type generators, and never have problems.  I've been reading some of your stuff, because I ran into a situation up there... One of my 50 amp rvs, smoked an air conditioner up there on someone else's grid.

When I went to investigate, I read 208 volts across the 2 hot legs, yet 125 at each hot leg to neutral.  I didn't quite understand, at the time, that those voltages can be considered normal when on 3 phase, but I was extremely troubled by the fact that they had nothing hooked to the ground terminal on the generator.  I didn't open their home made breaker box to see if they were bonded, so I'm assuming that they were not.