ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: Rumour has it... Soundcraft Vi1000  (Read 4402 times)

Branimir Bozak

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 49
  • Stara metalika
Rumour has it... Soundcraft Vi1000
« on: September 11, 2017, 08:27:21 am »

Look what showed up today on my fb wall:



http://portalnaglosnieniowy.eu/sprzet/631/soundcraft-vi1000-nowy-kompaktowy-mikser-cyfrowy

My limited Polish+google translate says:

16 XLR on board mic inputs
16 XLR on board line outputs
4 AES in, 4 AES out
Comes stock with DANTE in/out and optical MADI.

8 instances of BSS DPR901II dynamic eq
4 Lexicon effects

96 channel of inputs
24 stereo/mono AUX/GRP/MTX
8 VCA's

Although the article says the console work with maximum of 200 inputs and 200 outputs?

2 slots from D21m cards
Automixer and also control for AKG, Sennheiser and Shure wireless microphones.

Left side has 5 layers of inputs and 5 layers of USER layers
Right side has also 5 layers, it can be either output section or input, so basically, you can have 16 channels of inputs on the desk, or 8 inputs - 8 vca's, or similar.

The Vi1 is 10k Euros on Thomann.de, logic tells that the Vi1000 will cost less (less faders/inputs on board).

The Vi1000 is compatible with all Soundcraft stageboxes, the Compact, Vi, Mini's.
« Last Edit: September 11, 2017, 08:29:33 am by Branimir Bozak »
Logged
If you scoop, it sounds like poop!

Bob Leonard

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6428
  • Boston, MA USA
Re: Rumour has it... Soundcraft Vi1000
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2017, 10:06:08 pm »

I'll take 2 please.
Logged
BOSTON STRONG........

I did a gig for Otis Elevator once. Like every job, it had it's ups and downs.

Stephen Kirby

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2498
Re: Rumour has it... Soundcraft Vi1000
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2017, 01:24:47 am »

I don't get the UI.  Do things pop up when you touch something like an eq place?  Looks like lots of touching things to get the encoder to do what you want.
Logged

Brian Jojade

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1235
    • HappyMac Digital Electronics
Re: Rumour has it... Soundcraft Vi1000
« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2017, 02:09:07 am »

I don't get the UI.  Do things pop up when you touch something like an eq place?  Looks like lots of touching things to get the encoder to do what you want.

I was thinking the same thing.  Touch screen interfaces are great, but on a physical surface, having dedicated knobs makes it far easier to control things with muscle memory.  Plus, physical buttons are still visible in direct sunlight.
Logged
Brian Jojade

Steve Payne

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 330
    • Soundworks of Virginia, Inc.
Re: Rumour has it... Soundcraft Vi1000
« Reply #4 on: September 12, 2017, 07:44:22 am »

I don't get the UI.  Do things pop up when you touch something like an eq place?  Looks like lots of touching things to get the encoder to do what you want.

We have been using the Vi interface for quite a number of years now.  It is very fast and intuitive.  The channels are laid out in horizontal strips on the screen with individual sections within each channel strip for input,  eq, dynamics, auxes, routing, etc.  You touch the area of interest on any particular channel and the entire section is immediately and clearly mapped to the 2 rows of knobs and buttons below.  The only thing we found we needed to adjust to was that the channel strip control lays out vertically rather than horizontally.  This feels pretty normal in short order.  We have current offerings from most of the major manufacturers in our shop.  The Vi remains our personal favorite surface.  Different strokes for different folks.  Ainít life grand.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=10&v=GrI7KcM0T0I
Logged
Steve Payne
like us on Facebook at:
https://www.facebook.com/SOUNDWORKSOFVIRGINIA

Branimir Bozak

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 49
  • Stara metalika
Re: Rumour has it... Soundcraft Vi1000
« Reply #5 on: September 12, 2017, 08:49:07 am »

Hah, seems the webpage is 404, somebody took it down :)

And yes the Vi's UI is quite nice to use, and all the parameter tweaking is done by knobs.
Logged
If you scoop, it sounds like poop!

John Sulek

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 287
  • Toronto Canada
Re: Rumour has it... Soundcraft Vi1000
« Reply #6 on: September 12, 2017, 01:01:16 pm »

We have been using the Vi interface for quite a number of years now.  It is very fast and intuitive.  The channels are laid out in horizontal strips on the screen with individual sections within each channel strip for input,  eq, dynamics, auxes, routing, etc.  You touch the area of interest on any particular channel and the entire section is immediately and clearly mapped to the 2 rows of knobs and buttons below.  The only thing we found we needed to adjust to was that the channel strip control lays out vertically rather than horizontally.  This feels pretty normal in short order.  We have current offerings from most of the major manufacturers in our shop.  The Vi remains our personal favorite surface.  Different strokes for different folks.  Ainít life grand.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=10&v=GrI7KcM0T0I

Now if only the screens were better in daylight.
Logged

Steve Payne

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 330
    • Soundworks of Virginia, Inc.
Re: Rumour has it... Soundcraft Vi1000
« Reply #7 on: September 12, 2017, 05:17:26 pm »

Now if only the screens were better in daylight.

Indeed. 
Logged
Steve Payne
like us on Facebook at:
https://www.facebook.com/SOUNDWORKSOFVIRGINIA

Dave Pluke

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 570
    • BIGG GRIN Productions
Re: Rumour has it... Soundcraft Vi1000
« Reply #8 on: September 12, 2017, 06:00:08 pm »


https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=10&v=GrI7KcM0T0I

Thanks for the video link, Steve.  Think I could get used to that interface fairly quickly!

Dave
Logged
...an analog man in a digital world [tm]

Scott Mullane

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 85
Re: Rumour has it... Soundcraft Vi1000
« Reply #9 on: September 15, 2017, 07:57:48 pm »

Interesting. Also, if that interface is anything like it's cousin the Studer Vista, then it is a lot more intuitive than it looks. Great UI in my opinion...now if Soundcraft could put more than 4 FX engines in their high end boards. : P
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Up
 


Page created in 0.059 seconds with 18 queries.