ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: AES67 wireless  (Read 565 times)

RubenMateo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
AES67 wireless
« on: September 07, 2017, 03:47:22 pm »

Hi, I am trying to use some channels to transmit wirelessly, the devices I have are: Yamaha CL5 and Rio1608 (V4.1), ubiquiti lite beam ac airmax and nano beam ac gen2. AES67 works wirelessly?


Enviado desde mi iPad utilizando Tapatalk
Logged

Tim McCulloch

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17650
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: AES67 wireless
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2017, 05:34:24 pm »

Hi, I am trying to use some channels to transmit wirelessly, the devices I have are: Yamaha CL5 and Rio1608 (V4.1), ubiquiti lite beam ac airmax and nano beam ac gen2. AES67 works wirelessly?


Enviado desde mi iPad utilizando Tapatalk

No.

AES67 is not TCP/IP packet switched data.
Logged
"Practicing an art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow, for heaven's sake. Sing in the shower. Dance to the radio. Tell stories. Write a poem to a friend, even a lousy poem. Do it as well as you possible can. You will get an enormous reward. You will have created something."  - Kurt Vonnegut

David Sturzenbecher

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1231
    • Sturz Audio
AES67 wireless
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2017, 06:02:46 pm »

No.

AES67 is not TCP/IP packet switched data.
Yes it is. But it still won't work wirelessly. The wireless links have too great of latency.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Logged
CTS-D, CTS-I
AES Full Member

Henry Cohen

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 634
  • Westchester Co., NY, USA
Re: AES67 wireless
« Reply #3 on: September 07, 2017, 07:46:54 pm »

The only wireless product I've heard of that has successfully transported Dante is the Ubiquiti AirFiber 24HD which is full duplex and rated at 1GB throughput each direction simultaneously. It would be interesting to try it with AES67.
Logged
Henry Cohen

CP Communications    www.cpcomms.com
Radio Active Designs  www.radioactiverf.com

Robert Lofgren

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 481
Re: AES67 wireless
« Reply #4 on: September 08, 2017, 03:24:50 am »

I've been successful in running dante using Ethernet-Over-Power. Does that count? I have yet to try it with aes67 though. Maybe next week...?
Logged

willem hoekstra JR

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: AES67 wireless
« Reply #5 on: September 08, 2017, 11:23:31 am »

I've been successful in running dante using Ethernet-Over-Power. Does that count? I have yet to try it with aes67 though. Maybe next week...?

no, that does not count :)
Dante uses a complete different protocol to chop up audio.
AES67 is based on the livewire protocol from the Telos (Axia) corp. You might also know them from their Omnia audio cpu's (broadcast)

I've been working with these protocols for over ten years. You can use a wireless connection, but i've only seen it successfully working with pro motorola systems.
Latency, QOS (quality of service) and all other that are not supported by regular wifi systems are needed. that is exactly why you can not just plug-in just any switch, but need an expensive cisco (no lite firmware) or a special build from one of the suppliers.
Logged
Try reading the F* manual for once..

Mac Kerr

  • Old enough to know better
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5678
  • Audio Plumber
Re: AES67 wireless
« Reply #6 on: September 08, 2017, 01:47:27 pm »

no, that does not count :)
Dante uses a complete different protocol to chop up audio.
AES67 is based on the livewire protocol from the Telos (Axia) corp. You might also know them from their Omnia audio cpu's (broadcast)

AES67 is the current AES interoperability standard. You should be able to run Dante, Livewire, Ravenna, or any other audio over IP standard that has an AES67 interface. AFAIK no one is using AES67 as their primary format, but all the major manufacturers have a way to interconnect various formats through AES67.

Mac
Logged

Tim McCulloch

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17650
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: AES67 wireless
« Reply #7 on: September 08, 2017, 02:11:38 pm »

Yes it is. But it still won't work wirelessly. The wireless links have too great of latency.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Yeah, I was thinking AES50 while reading AES67.  OOPS.
Logged
"Practicing an art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow, for heaven's sake. Sing in the shower. Dance to the radio. Tell stories. Write a poem to a friend, even a lousy poem. Do it as well as you possible can. You will get an enormous reward. You will have created something."  - Kurt Vonnegut
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 


Page created in 0.09 seconds with 16 queries.