ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 8   Go Down

Author Topic: because they only use tweeters?  (Read 17124 times)

Dave Potter

because they only use tweeters?
« on: September 06, 2017, 03:05:35 AM »

Its been years since I was here.  Hi everyone.
I started playing Brazilian percussion and I've joined a community group which has its own rig for rehearsals.  I'm just replacing tweeter coils!.  Firstly, they have no audio knowledge so they treat their gear like trash.  Over-driving everything.  One thing that crossed my mind though:-. 

They use these powered Mackie full range powered boxes, but they only use it for vocals and a ukelele - turned up to the limit.  Are they putting all of their power through the tweeters? or does physics not work like that?

Geert Friedhof

Re: because they only use tweeters?
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2017, 06:43:03 AM »

Usually it's quite hard to destroy drivers in a powered cabinet. They have protection built-in. But it is not impossible. Most of the time a bad gain-structure is the cause.

Start with setting the gain-structure at reasonable levels, and check that the input on the box is set to line-level. Drive the boxes as hard so the limit-led will occasionally flash. That's the limit! If not loud enough, your boxes are not up to the task.

David Allred

« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2017, 09:37:58 AM »

They use these powered Mackie full range powered boxes, but they only use it for vocals and a ukelele - turned up to the limit.  Are they putting all of their power through the tweeters? or does physics not work like that?

Are you asking if all the potential power of the cabinet is making it's way to the tweeter if the content is such that power is not eaten in the lower registers?  Are these Mackie's biamped?  Most (an awful lot of) powered boxes use separate amp modules for highs and lows.

Geert Friedhof