ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: How did you get started? The small guy or weekend warrior, or should I say why?  (Read 5884 times)

Steve Crump

I should say first of all I am an electrician and have been all my working life and sound is a weekend gig.
I am fairly new to sound reinforcement, it started about 6 years ago when my daughter's boyfriend ask my son did he want to play in their band. Well they didn't have sh_t for gear and I loved fooling with electronic/electric "toys", so I started buying, learning, going out and helping.

I can remember being ask (5 years ago) to do a outdoor music festival and being to naive to realize what I didn't know and should have said no. We made it through and it was the first year for the festival, so only about 400 people came. It's funny to think I was cocky more so then and I knew nothing about providing sound reinforcement at all. Thank god for old musicians with their endless advice and you guys on ProSoundWeb. I have learned a ton from reading post, articles and asking questions here.

Next thing I know, I am helping everywhere locally, local art center, high school fundraisers, community theater etc. So, for some reason dragging gear around wasn't enough, we opened a listening room 2.5 years ago. Jury is still out on whether this was a good idea or not....After all I still work full time at construction.

The reason I started sound reinforcement was really in support of my son's music. He went from Stevie Ray to John Prine over the years and even got to play some cool places. Now he is putting it behind for a minute to go to college to figure out what he wants out of life. (Makes me think of the quote at the bottom of Debbie's post.) Now I have some cool gear and a great sidekick to help, so I plan on having some fun....

« Last Edit: March 22, 2018, 10:47:43 AM by Steve Crump »