ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: QU32 vs X32  (Read 19093 times)

Isaac South

• Central Kentucky
QU32 vs X32
« on: June 19, 2017, 05:03:12 PM »

I know there will be some mixed feelings on this.  But I have zero experience with these boards, so I'm seeking your advice/help.

Our church is getting close to doing a serious audio system upgrade.  We have several companies coming in the month of July to give us quotes.  I just got off the phone with one particular company.  I had mentioned getting an X32, but he highly recommended the QU32.  He said it is a bit more user friendly, and he does far less service calls on the QU than the X32.

He was very nice and willing to install either board.  But I just want to get your feedback on these two consoles. 

Thank you for your information/advice/experience.

Corey Scogin

• Birmingham, AL, US
Re: QU32 vs X32
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2017, 07:53:00 PM »

Do you have A) volunteers and mostly n00bs running sound or B) are they all at least pro-sound hobbyists?
A) Qu32
B) X32

Do you need direct-to-drive multi-track capability?
Qu32

Will you be using a personal monitor system and can afford ~$600 ea?
Qu32

Do you need flexible bus routing for monitors or other purposes?
X32

Do you really like an RTA plotted against your EQ for finding problem frequencies?
X32

I went with the Qu series for my church, even though I own and really like the X/M32 series, for two reasons:
1. Easier interface for non-sound people to understand.
2. Mostly fixed routing means it's easier to troubleshoot.
3. Direct-to-drive multi-track recording.
4. Very good personal monitor system.
« Last Edit: June 19, 2017, 08:25:18 PM by Corey Scogin »

Isaac South

• Central Kentucky
« Reply #2 on: June 20, 2017, 01:41:00 PM »

Thank you for your reply, Corey.  Here are my answers: