ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Recommend decent, lightweight and portable lighting for bands?  (Read 6531 times)

Richard Penrose

Hi,

I have been providing sound for various local events and am looking to add some lighting. I am completely new to lighting so have no idea what I should be looking to buy. I mainly work by myself so want something small, lightweight and effective.
I have used the common KAM Party Bar type of setup with 4 units attached to a T-Bar but would like to add some other lights to have more impact/variety to the stage lighting??

What would you recommend that's lightweight and very easy to rig by myself? I'm not sure on budget as I don't know what's available or how much it costs?

Thanks

Jeff Lelko

• Cape Canaveral, FL
Re: Recommend decent, lightweight and portable lighting for bands?
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2017, 09:43:27 AM »

Hi Richard,

A lot of this will depend on which specific looks you'd like to achieve.  Generally speaking, the lights you set up will fall into one of two categories - fixtures that are responsible for lighting the stage and the people on it, and the fixtures that do the "eye candy" effects such as beams, pixel grids, etc.  Often you can do double-duty with a lot of fixtures, but that's gist of it.  How large of a stage are you looking to light?