ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: New guy. Help needed on 5 new wireless systems  (Read 7110 times)

Caleb Johnson

New guy. Help needed on 5 new wireless systems
« on: April 01, 2017, 01:11:17 AM »

Hello all. I just recently found this forum and I'm hoping you all can be very helpful.

I will start by saying IM VERY UNQUALIFIED!!  I read some threads and most the the terms are just over my head!! I've been running our board for probably ten years but with ZERO formal training. I've stumbled through and have things mostly set where they sound good to all of our untrained ears and I leave it be! Lol.

But I'm trying.

Our church is ready to add more wireless.
Current setup is a Yamaha 20ch board that runs through a mackie 8ch mixer/amp (more help with that later)

Current wireless is an audio technica 2000 for the pulpit mic and a peavy body PAC that is used on a saxophone. All else is wired.

We are looking to add 5 wireless mics. They will mostly be used by kids from 4-15 years old. Some use by visiting groups and stuff as well though.
Sound board is located stage left. I run it while playing bass. Entire band is in that corner.

Sanctuary is 50x60 and 25' tall.

No rack mounts or anything currently. It all just sits on a glass shelf unit.

I'm really not sure where to go here.

We have a member willing to donate for the cost. He is willing to go up to $4000 but I really feel like that amount would be excessive for this use for our congregation. I would like to keep It under $2500 to allow the funds to go other places. We probably don't have $5000 in our entire set up and that has all be collected over 20 years so this is a big purchase for us.  We are a small country church of 30 people many of which are young aspiring singers!

Sure- which one will suffice
Senheisser- how is the new xsw-1?
Audio technica -2000 or 3000 series?