ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: Pastor's Mic Compression Settings  (Read 9962 times)

Johnathan Funk

Pastor's Mic Compression Settings
« on: March 25, 2017, 11:21:16 AM »

Hello,
I'm new to this forum, but I was hoping someone here could help me. I am the "sound guy" at my church, but I'm completely self-taught, with not a lot of familiarity with the correct terms for a lot things when it comes to audio. We're a small church, so our budget for audio isn't very big, but I recently purchased a dbx 266XL for our pastor's microphone. I don't know how to set it up though, and the guide I had planned on using from CCI Solutions now leads to a blank page, as it seems they updated their website. How would I go about configuring this properly? Our mixer is an Allen & Heath ZED428 if that's important. Also, is it better to run the line from the mic through the compressor or just use an insert cable? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

g'bye, Dick Rees

• Duluth
Re: Pastor's Mic Compression Settings
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2017, 02:07:58 PM »

Insert cable.

Start by using the "Auto" setting rather than guessing about the controls.  You'll eventually want to know about using the unit as a limiter on the mic by choosing a hard knee, high threshold and quick-ish release to just ride herd on any overs.
Pay no attention to the man behind the curtain...

Johnathan Funk

« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2017, 03:29:02 PM »

Insert cable.

Start by using the "Auto" setting rather than guessing about the controls.  You'll eventually want to know about using the unit as a limiter on the mic by choosing a hard knee, high threshold and quick-ish release to just ride herd on any overs.

Thanks! I'll go ahead and give that a try when it arrives.

Jay Barracato

• Solomons, MD
« Reply #3 on: March 25, 2017, 04:54:36 PM »