ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5   Go Down

Author Topic: Distro Questions, amp rack tie in  (Read 2738 times)

Jeremy Young

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 96
Re: Distro Questions, amp rack tie in
« Reply #30 on: March 11, 2017, 06:16:44 pm »



Update:
I received a PM from a labster in my area who had a Peavey rack mount distro he was willing to sell for a good price!  Thanks again for everyone's help! 

I now have more than enough power right in the rack where I need it, and I've left the panel connector in place in case I'm doing a gig where 240v isn't an option.


I'm just a little weary from a few of the comments on here that seem to be conflicting, but perhaps the specific terminology is being missed by my undereducated brain.

Actually, it is not acceptable to use a 20 A receptacle on a 15 A circuit.  NEC 2014 table 210.21(B)(3).  20 amp plugs are installed on loads that could potentially overload a 15 amp circuit before the breaker trips.

To be clear, would a cable with nema5-15P on one end, and a locking 30A 120v (L5-30R) connector on the other end be acceptable in most AHJ's eyes?  Since it's nema5-15P on one end, would 12ga be acceptable?



This would be solely for a convenient way to plug in my amp rack contents with a single plug (all of which are nema5-15p or nema5-20p) if I don't have somewhere to patch the distro.  Behind the panel are two quad-boxes of standard Edison receptacles.

Here are some pictures, don't mind the cable mess, it'll look neater when I'm done:
Logged
www.brownbearsound.ca
Victoria BC Canada

Jeff Lelko

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 513
  • Cape Canaveral, FL
Re: Distro Questions, amp rack tie in
« Reply #31 on: March 26, 2017, 05:07:51 pm »

The Terrapin is for outdoor use on the ground, that's why it has legs.

So I'd like to buy a pair of these but can't seem to find the callout for the exact type of CS input they have.  Is it the kind that accepts the CS Style CS6364?  Thanks!
Logged

Tim McCulloch

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17103
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: Distro Questions, amp rack tie in
« Reply #32 on: March 26, 2017, 06:11:54 pm »

So I'd like to buy a pair of these but can't seem to find the callout for the exact type of CS input they have.  Is it the kind that accepts the CS Style CS6364?  Thanks!

You'd have to inquire of LEX Products for a certain answer as the data sheet and user manual do not specify.

However... on the web page it shows accessories that include a 50 amp-rated cable assembly that does, indeed, use CS6364 and CS6365 connectors.

A similar "lunch box" or "pagoda" distro is built by INDU Electric and perhaps a few others.  Custom connector selection (CS) may have an up-charge, but I think you'll want to get prices from more than 1 brand...
Logged
"Practicing an art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow, for heaven's sake. Sing in the shower. Dance to the radio. Tell stories. Write a poem to a friend, even a lousy poem. Do it as well as you possible can. You will get an enormous reward. You will have created something."  - Kurt Vonnegut

Jeff Lelko

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 513
  • Cape Canaveral, FL
Re: Distro Questions, amp rack tie in
« Reply #33 on: March 26, 2017, 06:34:38 pm »

You'd have to inquire of LEX Products for a certain answer as the data sheet and user manual do not specify.

However... on the web page it shows accessories that include a 50 amp-rated cable assembly that does, indeed, use CS6364 and CS6365 connectors.

A similar "lunch box" or "pagoda" distro is built by INDU Electric and perhaps a few others.  Custom connector selection (CS) may have an up-charge, but I think you'll want to get prices from more than 1 brand...

Thanks Tim.  I know none of these distros are cheap and I want to get this right the first time!  Do you normally buy right from the manufacturer?  Lex seems to point you to distributors and INDU looks like they'll sell directly to end users, though I can't seem to find their Lex Terrapin equivalent - the last entry in the ARMOR-TECH SERIES looks close though.  I definitely need something that's suitable for outdoor use.   
Logged

Tim McCulloch

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17103
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: Distro Questions, amp rack tie in
« Reply #34 on: March 26, 2017, 07:28:47 pm »

Thanks Tim.  I know none of these distros are cheap and I want to get this right the first time!  Do you normally buy right from the manufacturer?  Lex seems to point you to distributors and INDU looks like they'll sell directly to end users, though I can't seem to find their Lex Terrapin equivalent - the last entry in the ARMOR-TECH SERIES looks close though.  I definitely need something that's suitable for outdoor use.

Motion Labs "Hibachi" line is very similar to the LEX unit.  I'm certain I've seen one from another manufacturer but can't think of who that is...
Logged
"Practicing an art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow, for heaven's sake. Sing in the shower. Dance to the radio. Tell stories. Write a poem to a friend, even a lousy poem. Do it as well as you possible can. You will get an enormous reward. You will have created something."  - Kurt Vonnegut

Jeff Lelko

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 513
  • Cape Canaveral, FL
Re: Distro Questions, amp rack tie in
« Reply #35 on: March 26, 2017, 07:34:51 pm »

Motion Labs "Hibachi" line is very similar to the LEX unit.  I'm certain I've seen one from another manufacturer but can't think of who that is...

Thanks again.  I'll definitely take a look!
Logged

John Fruits

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 451
Re: Distro Questions, amp rack tie in
« Reply #36 on: March 26, 2017, 09:39:08 pm »

Another company to take a look at:
http://acpowerdistribution.com/
Logged
"The music business is a cruel and shallow money trench, a long plastic hallway where thieves and pimps run free, and good men die like dogs.  There's also a negative side."-Hunter S. Thompson

Frank Koenig

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 324
Re: Distro Questions, amp rack tie in
« Reply #37 on: March 26, 2017, 11:31:37 pm »

Motion Labs "Hibachi" line is very similar to the LEX unit.

"Hibachi" is a curious choice of name for a piece of power distribution equipment that, in general, is expected to get no more than slightly warm to the touch during operation. :) -F
Logged
Yes, it is a giant stereo system!

Geoff Doane

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 748
  • Halifax, NS
Re: Distro Questions, amp rack tie in
« Reply #38 on: April 03, 2017, 02:07:00 pm »


To be clear, would a cable with nema5-15P on one end, and a locking 30A 120v (L5-30R) connector on the other end be acceptable in most AHJ's eyes?  Since it's nema5-15P on [/font]one end, would 12ga be acceptable?[/size]

This would be solely for a convenient way to plug in my amp rack contents with a single plug (all of which are nema5-15p or nema5-20p) if I don't have somewhere to patch the distro.  Behind the panel are two quad-boxes of standard Edison receptacles.


I don't think there's any complaint with a 5-15P to L5-30R cable made from 12 ga. cable, since it can't be plugged into anything more than a 20A circuit.  The trouble is at the rack end.  It would be possible to connect a 30A feed to that inlet flange (L5-30P), and you don't have anything to limit the current at the duplexes inside to 15 or 20A.  I know that sound companies have done this for years, but it doesn't make it right.

I have heard that it is allowable to use twist-locs for non-specific applications (speakers, motor control), if there is little chance of them being mixed up with the real thing, although I can't quote chapter and verse from the CEC for that.  It would be better to not give the electrical inspector something easy to trip you up on if you can avoid it.  Vancouver was where the CBC found out that none of their feeder cable was allowed (at Expo 86) because it didn't have "SC" markings on it.  It didn't matter that the stuff had been used successfully for years.

GTD
Logged

Steve Crump

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 59
Re: Distro Questions, amp rack tie in
« Reply #39 on: April 03, 2017, 02:50:37 pm »

I don't think there's any complaint with a 5-15P to L5-30R cable made from 12 ga. cable, since it can't be plugged into anything more than a 20A circuit.  The trouble is at the rack end.  It would be possible to connect a 30A feed to that inlet flange (L5-30P), and you don't have anything to limit the current at the duplexes inside to 15 or 20A.  I know that sound companies have done this for years, but it doesn't make it right.



GTD


Doesn't the distro have fuses or breakers protecting each receptacle on the distro?

Steve
Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5   Go Up
 


Page created in 0.128 seconds with 18 queries.