ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: SysTune initial configuration help  (Read 1153 times)

Janne Paul

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
SysTune initial configuration help
« on: March 01, 2017, 05:39:12 pm »

So I bought SysTune prior any measurement experience. Now I don't get how to configure it for dual FFT measurements. The phase plot looks chaotic, line graph is just bouncing around.

What's wrong with my config?

I'm using my iPhone as pink noise generator. The left iPhone channel goes to Roland Octacapture channel 2 ("Reference channel").
The right iPhone channel goes to amp and left speaker.
ECM8000 mic inputs to channel 2 on Octacapture ("Signal channel".
Octacapture connected with USB to PC.

Logged

Tim McCulloch

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17122
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: SysTune initial configuration help
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2017, 05:55:20 pm »

So I bought SysTune prior any measurement experience. Now I don't get how to configure it for dual FFT measurements. The phase plot looks chaotic, line graph is just bouncing around.

What's wrong with my config?

I'm using my iPhone as pink noise generator. The left iPhone channel goes to Roland Octacapture channel 2 ("Reference channel").
The right iPhone channel goes to amp and left speaker.
ECM8000 mic inputs to channel 2 on Octacapture ("Signal channel".
Octacapture connected with USB to PC.

I don't know how the iThingy generates pink noise, but I'd use only 1 output (say, Left) and y-cord that to the reference input and DUT input.  That way you're assured both are receiving the exact same signal.

Also you need to do an initial loop-back test.  If that doesn't give flat magnitude response and a phase response that doesn't wrap (wrap is what you're seeing as a big saw-tooth in your phase window), you've got problems to address before attempting measurement.

While the examples at Rational Acoustics are based on their Smaart product, the concepts are universal so you might want to check out their tutorials and white papers.  I'd be really surprised if AFMG doesn't have similar resources.

Forum moderator Doug Fowler is a SysTune instructor and has some YouTube videos.  Start with this one:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zFGKAwHQTtg

Finally, the PSW forums include one specific to measurement and testing:

http://forums.prosoundweb.com/index.php/board,78.0.html

I will ask the mods to move your post to that forum.

Have fun, good luck.

Tim Mc
Logged
"Practicing an art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow, for heaven's sake. Sing in the shower. Dance to the radio. Tell stories. Write a poem to a friend, even a lousy poem. Do it as well as you possible can. You will get an enormous reward. You will have created something."  - Kurt Vonnegut

Ivan Beaver

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 7891
  • Atlanta GA
Re: SysTune initial configuration help
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2017, 06:31:38 pm »

So I bought SysTune prior any measurement experience. Now I don't get how to configure it for dual FFT measurements. The phase plot looks chaotic, line graph is just bouncing around.

What's wrong with my config?

I'm using my iPhone as pink noise generator. The left iPhone channel goes to Roland Octacapture channel 2 ("Reference channel").
The right iPhone channel goes to amp and left speaker.
ECM8000 mic inputs to channel 2 on Octacapture ("Signal channel".
Octacapture connected with USB to PC.
You say that you have both the reference and the mic on channel 2.  That would be a starting point.

You also don't have any delay set.

That will screw up the phase trace A LOT
Logged
A complex question is easily answered by a simple-easy to understand WRONG answer!

Ivan Beaver
Danley Sound Labs

PHYSICS- NOT FADS!

Janne Paul

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
Re: SysTune initial configuration help
« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2017, 04:59:16 pm »

I downloaded Smaart trial version and installed it on my MacBook and got it working.
It should prove that my measurement hardware and wiring is correct. So the problem should be with the configuration of Systune. Or my Windows PC (where Systune is installed)

"You also don't have any delay set."
I have now set the delay to the same value (5.08ms) as in Smaart and also tried the peak and auto function. Makes no difference.

"You say that you have both the reference and the mic on channel 2."
It's a typo. My misstake. The setup is now:

iPhone as pink noise generator. The left iPhone channel goes trough an y-cord to the reference input and DUT input.
Logged

David Sturzenbecher

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1158
    • Sturz Audio
Re: SysTune initial configuration help
« Reply #4 on: March 02, 2017, 09:36:29 pm »

I downloaded Smaart trial version and installed it on my MacBook and got it working.
It should prove that my measurement hardware and wiring is correct. So the problem should be with the configuration of Systune. Or my Windows PC (where Systune is installed)

"You also don't have any delay set."
I have now set the delay to the same value (5.08ms) as in Smaart and also tried the peak and auto function. Makes no difference.

"You say that you have both the reference and the mic on channel 2."
It's a typo. My misstake. The setup is now:

iPhone as pink noise generator. The left iPhone channel goes trough an y-cord to the reference input and DUT input.

I have found the phase trace in smaart to be much smother than Systune.   I almost got the impression that the phase trace in Systune was unaffected by the averages.   If i recall i could set the averaging to infinity, and the phase would still jump around like crazy.
Logged
CTS-D, CTS-I
AES Full Memeber

Ivan Beaver

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 7891
  • Atlanta GA
Re: SysTune initial configuration help
« Reply #5 on: March 03, 2017, 08:04:38 am »

I have found the phase trace in smaart to be much smother than Systune.   I almost got the impression that the phase trace in Systune was unaffected by the averages.   If i recall i could set the averaging to infinity, and the phase would still jump around like crazy.
I used Systune quite a lot when it first came out.

But, like you, I could not get the phase trace to display anything useful.  I was using Smaart 5 as my standard for system alignment before that, and the phase trace was fine.

When Smaart 7 came out with live multiple traces-I stopped using Systune.

It may have different now, but since I have changed computers, I cannot seem to be able to get my license back.  That seems to be problem with AFMG.  But that is a different story.
Logged
A complex question is easily answered by a simple-easy to understand WRONG answer!

Ivan Beaver
Danley Sound Labs

PHYSICS- NOT FADS!

Bruce Olson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16
  • Member since 1984, if you count CS & live-audio
    • Olson Sound Design
Re: SysTune initial configuration help
« Reply #6 on: March 03, 2017, 09:24:30 am »

So I bought SysTune prior any measurement experience. Now I don't get how to configure it for dual FFT measurements. The phase plot looks chaotic, line graph is just bouncing around.

What's wrong with my config?

Why are you using such a short FFT size. It is limiting your frequency resolution to ~190Hz. A more appropriate value would be a size of 32k or the default of 64k, giving you ~1Hz frequency Resolution. You also probably do not need nearly as many averages. I find 4 usually gives me a stable display for both Magnitude and Phase.

If you continue to have problems, please contact us at Support@afmg.eu .

Bruce
Logged
Bruce C. Olson
Olson Sound Design, LLC
AFMG Services North America, LLC
Olson Sound Design
Big Band
Software
AFMG Forum

Bruce Olson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16
  • Member since 1984, if you count CS & live-audio
    • Olson Sound Design
Re: SysTune initial configuration help
« Reply #7 on: March 03, 2017, 09:27:14 am »

It may have different now, but since I have changed computers, I cannot seem to be able to get my license back.  That seems to be problem with AFMG.  But that is a different story.

You might want to contact us at Support@afmg.eu so we can sort that out for you. It looks like this is the first we've heard about this from you.

Bruce
Logged
Bruce C. Olson
Olson Sound Design, LLC
AFMG Services North America, LLC
Olson Sound Design
Big Band
Software
AFMG Forum

Bruce Olson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16
  • Member since 1984, if you count CS & live-audio
    • Olson Sound Design
Re: SysTune initial configuration help
« Reply #8 on: March 03, 2017, 09:51:49 am »

I have found the phase trace in smaart to be much smother than Systune.   I almost got the impression that the phase trace in Systune was unaffected by the averages.   If i recall i could set the averaging to infinity, and the phase would still jump around like crazy.

The phase trace is affected by the number of averages in SysTune. If the phase is jumping around as much as you say, I would suspect environmental factors are at play to cause that.

Bruce
Logged
Bruce C. Olson
Olson Sound Design, LLC
AFMG Services North America, LLC
Olson Sound Design
Big Band
Software
AFMG Forum

Ivan Beaver

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 7891
  • Atlanta GA
Re: SysTune initial configuration help
« Reply #9 on: March 03, 2017, 01:11:52 pm »

You might want to contact us at Support@afmg.eu so we can sort that out for you. It looks like this is the first we've heard about this from you.

Bruce
I went back and forth about Systune and my EASE license with our IT guy and AFMG a number of years ago.

It could never be resolved so I just gave up and went another direction for my usages.

We spent a lot of money for the licenses that were not usable.
Logged
A complex question is easily answered by a simple-easy to understand WRONG answer!

Ivan Beaver
Danley Sound Labs

PHYSICS- NOT FADS!
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Up
 


Page created in 0.138 seconds with 20 queries.