ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Front Fill and Delay speaker setup  (Read 21837 times)

Alex Pregel

Front Fill and Delay speaker setup
« on: January 07, 2017, 10:00:50 PM »

Hello, I am a current High School senior and am having trouble figuring out how to really setup and calibrate/process front fill and balcony delay speakers. I have some background knowledge in some basic concepts  (thanks to Bob McCarthy's book). From what I gathered the most important thing in front fills is phase alignment at the crossover point with the mains where both systems are at -6db. First of all, is this the right concept for these and how do I go about accomplishing this? In the past we just threw the delays up and measured (length) at the estimated crossover point for the delay with a little EQ. While this sounded ok I would like to figure out how to take a lot of the guess work out if it. A little background in the space... [it's a 850 seat percenium style theater with a bowed out pit. The mains are a center JBL VRX line array with a flown sub and three boxes. I've been using four small speakers as the full (not sure if the model) but they have about a 90 degree conical pattern and sit at the edge of the pit at about 30 feet from the main speakers. Currently the HF from the mains drops out by the 3rd row and the 1st row is always unused since it is so close to the fills and the pit.] So, I currently just have a behringer calibration mic at my disposal and the free room EQ wizard and a two input interface. We are running the system from a Yamaha QL5. I can also get the free trail of Smaart if needed. So, how would I go about finding the crossover point and align the phase with two speakers that have very different phase and frequency responses? Moving on to the balcony. The first row is about 80 feet from the mains. At this point do I need to worry about combing