ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: PowerCon 32A to L14-20P?  (Read 1623 times)

Andrew Henderson

  • Lab Lounge
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 271
    • http://www.getlostinsound.com
PowerCon 32A to L14-20P?
« on: December 17, 2016, 07:20:05 am »

I'll soon have an amplifier that has a PowerCon 32A connector (Danley DNA20K4).

I've gotten good info from the manual and from other threads about how to run this on a standard 120 "Edison" outlet when needed.

Our Power Distro has L14-20R connections. For me to run this amp at 240V, Is it safe/legal for me to make a 3-wire cable that goes from L14-20P (4-conductor) to PowerCon 32A (3-conductor), and just leave the neutral terminal on the L14-20P disconnected?

Thanks in advance. I don't have experience with not having a neutral conductor.
Logged

Stephen Swaffer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1754
Re: PowerCon 32A to L14-20P?
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2016, 10:15:11 am »

If you think through the entire circuit from the breaker panel to the 3 wire powercon you will get your answer.  If I ( I'm a licensed electrician so been here done this) install a 3 wire 240 volt receptacle I usually come out of a panel with 2 "hot" wires and a ground-leaving no connection to the neutral in the panel.  If I install a 4-wire receptacle, I run a ground with it. I can run a neutral as far as I need it-but if it is not needed, I simply leave it disconnected.  It doesn't matter whether the electrician doesn't run the neutral from the panel to the receptacle, or if you decline to run it from the receptacle to the equipment.

I would NOT recommend not including a neutral if the load end of your cable has a 4-wire connector-in that case it would be possible to connect some equipment that needs a neutral.

The connected equipment determines if a neutral must be connected.
Logged
Steve Swaffer

Andrew Henderson

  • Lab Lounge
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 271
    • http://www.getlostinsound.com
Re: PowerCon 32A to L14-20P?
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2016, 10:39:00 am »

Ok, I think that makes sense. Every time we have connected our split phase (120/240v) distro, we have connected to the neutral and ground separately at the panel. Up until now, we haven't actually had any 240v equipment. We've just used the 4-wire runs for splitting into two "legs" of 120v.

The cable run to the amp rack will still be 4-wire, but the amp itself has a 3-conductor power input. The cable I would make would just be a short jumper, a dedicated power cable for that amp.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Logged

Mike Sokol

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2939
  • Lead instructor for the No~Shock~Zone
    • No~Shock~Zone Electrical Safety
Re: PowerCon 32A to L14-20P?
« Reply #3 on: December 17, 2016, 10:51:42 am »

The cable run to the amp rack will still be 4-wire, but the amp itself has a 3-conductor power input. The cable I would make would just be a short jumper, a dedicated power cable for that amp.

I would also suggest you use SOOW (Hard Service Cord rated for 600 volts) rather than SJOOW (Junior Hard Service Cord rated for 300 volts) for any 240-volt adapter cables. That will help keep the AHJ happy.

Andrew Henderson

  • Lab Lounge
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 271
    • http://www.getlostinsound.com
Re: PowerCon 32A to L14-20P?
« Reply #4 on: December 17, 2016, 11:28:59 am »

Will do! I have some 10 gauge SOOW laying around. Thanks for the guidance, guys.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Logged

Dustin Corey

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19
Re: PowerCon 32A to L14-20P?
« Reply #5 on: April 11, 2017, 08:45:53 am »

but the amp itself has a 3-conductor power input. The cable I would make would just be a short jumper, a dedicated power cable for that amp.

I have been reading several 240v threads but want to verify it's safe to run 2 hots and a ground into the DNA 20k. I will be having an electrician add a new outlet for this amp and need to be sure to tell him what I need. The main breaker panel is only about 20ft away.
Also which plug will ship with the DNA in the US? L6-20 I'm assuming? Hoping to have the power ready when it comes in.

Thanks!
Logged

Ivan Beaver

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7938
  • Atlanta GA
Re: PowerCon 32A to L14-20P?
« Reply #6 on: April 12, 2017, 10:16:26 am »

I have been reading several 240v threads but want to verify it's safe to run 2 hots and a ground into the DNA 20k. I will be having an electrician add a new outlet for this amp and need to be sure to tell him what I need. The main breaker panel is only about 20ft away.
Also which plug will ship with the DNA in the US? L6-20 I'm assuming? Hoping to have the power ready when it comes in.

Thanks!
Yes, the plug it comes with is an L6-20.

It has 2 hots (for 240V) and a ground.

When it is run on 120V-one of the “hots” is actually the neutral.

You don’t need to do anything on the amp-it will “self adjust” to either voltage or 208V.

Just make sure it is not higher than 260V.

In the shop we have adaptors that are Fmale L6-20 to  regular Edison outlets, just so we can plug them in anywhere
Logged
A complex question is easily answered by a simple-easy to understand WRONG answer!

Ivan Beaver
Danley Sound Labs

PHYSICS- NOT FADS!

Dustin Corey

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19
Re: PowerCon 32A to L14-20P?
« Reply #7 on: April 12, 2017, 02:37:13 pm »

Yes, the plug it comes with is an L6-20.

It has 2 hots (for 240V) and a ground.

When it is run on 120V-one of the “hots” is actually the neutral.

You don’t need to do anything on the amp-it will “self adjust” to either voltage or 208V.

Just make sure it is not higher than 260V.

In the shop we have adaptors that are Fmale L6-20 to  regular Edison outlets, just so we can plug them in anywhere

Perfect, thanks!
Logged

Josh Evangelista

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 74
Re: PowerCon 32A to L14-20P?
« Reply #8 on: August 05, 2017, 09:15:50 pm »

Yes, the plug it comes with is an L6-20.

It has 2 hots (for 240V) and a ground.

When it is run on 120V-one of the “hots” is actually the neutral.

You don’t need to do anything on the amp-it will “self adjust” to either voltage or 208V.

Just make sure it is not higher than 260V.

In the shop we have adaptors that are Fmale L6-20 to  regular Edison outlets, just so we can plug them in anywhere

Ivan. Is there a reason why Danley has chosen an L6-20p vs an L5-30p?
Logged

Tim McCulloch

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17227
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: PowerCon 32A to L14-20P?
« Reply #9 on: August 06, 2017, 09:54:15 am »

Ivan. Is there a reason why Danley has chosen an L6-20p vs an L5-30p?

The L5 is not listed for 250v operation.
Logged
"Practicing an art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow, for heaven's sake. Sing in the shower. Dance to the radio. Tell stories. Write a poem to a friend, even a lousy poem. Do it as well as you possible can. You will get an enormous reward. You will have created something."  - Kurt Vonnegut

Josh Evangelista

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 74
Re: PowerCon 32A to L14-20P?
« Reply #10 on: August 06, 2017, 04:12:41 pm »

But the L6 -20 wont take 30 amps...
Logged

Tom Provenza

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 33
Re: PowerCon 32A to L14-20P?
« Reply #11 on: August 08, 2017, 06:07:46 pm »

But the L6 -20 wont take 30 amps...

Doesn't need to at 250v
Logged
------------------

Tom Provenza

Tim McCulloch

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17227
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: PowerCon 32A to L14-20P?
« Reply #12 on: August 08, 2017, 06:13:30 pm »

But the L6 -20 wont take 30 amps...

At 208-240 Volts it doesn't need 30 amps.
Logged
"Practicing an art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow, for heaven's sake. Sing in the shower. Dance to the radio. Tell stories. Write a poem to a friend, even a lousy poem. Do it as well as you possible can. You will get an enormous reward. You will have created something."  - Kurt Vonnegut
Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Up
 


Page created in 0.11 seconds with 17 queries.