ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: 4 SRX728s on 2 XTi6002 or 1 iTech12000HD  (Read 1625 times)

Jerry Prince

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38
4 SRX728s on 2 XTi6002 or 1 iTech12000HD
« on: February 04, 2016, 12:20:58 pm »

As the subject reads, I'm wondering what you guys think would sound best. I have been running my 4 JBL SRX728s off of 2 XTi6002 for the last few years and am very satisfied with the results. But I just purchased another iTech12000HD as a backup amp to my other 12000HD that I run my JBL vt4886s off. So because it will be sitting in the rack, would I be better off using it for my subs instead of the 2 XTi amps. Right now I'm using a driverack 360 for processing the 728s and the V5 turnings on the other iTech for the vt4886.
If I did use the iTech for the subs what would you use for processing, the Driverack or one of the vertec sub tunings in the itech. Thanks in advance for your help.

Ray Aberle

  • Classic LAB
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3199
  • Located in Vancouver, WA (and serves OR-WA-ID-BC)
    • Kelcema Audio
Re: 4 SRX728s on 2 XTi6002 or 1 iTech12000HD
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2016, 01:35:24 pm »

As the subject reads, I'm wondering what you guys think would sound best. I have been running my 4 JBL SRX728s off of 2 XTi6002 for the last few years and am very satisfied with the results. But I just purchased another iTech12000HD as a backup amp to my other 12000HD that I run my JBL vt4886s off. So because it will be sitting in the rack, would I be better off using it for my subs instead of the 2 XTi amps. Right now I'm using a driverack 360 for processing the 728s and the V5 turnings on the other iTech for the vt4886.
If I did use the iTech for the subs what would you use for processing, the Driverack or one of the vertec sub tunings in the itech. Thanks in advance for your help.

Since you're already using the v5 presets on the amps for your VerTecs, if you use the new (backup) IT12K for subs, now your backups are the two XTis. If you have to do an emergency onsite swap out, it's going to be easier to 1:1 the I-Tech12K then it would be to futz around with the two XTIs.

So, is there any other reason that you're considering moving the spare I-Tech to sub duty, or is this just wondering if there's any benefit to the change?

-Ray
Logged
Kelcema Audio
Regional - Serving Pacific Northwest (OR, WA, ID, BC)

Jerry Prince

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38
Re: 4 SRX728s on 2 XTi6002 or 1 iTech12000HD
« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2016, 03:34:04 pm »

Since you're already using the v5 presets on the amps for your VerTecs, if you use the new (backup) IT12K for subs, now your backups are the two XTis. If you have to do an emergency onsite swap out, it's going to be easier to 1:1 the I-Tech12K then it would be to futz around with the two XTIs.

So, is there any other reason that you're considering moving the spare I-Tech to sub duty, or is this just wondering if there's any benefit to the change?

-Ray

That would make it easier when/if I did need the new itech as a backup for the VT4886s.

I guess I'm trying to figure out if the subs would sound any better or if I would gain any output running them on the itech.

Steve Ferreira

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 236
Re: 4 SRX728s on 2 XTi6002 or 1 iTech12000HD
« Reply #3 on: February 05, 2016, 09:38:17 am »

JBL specs (Continuous1 / Program / Peak): Parallel: 1600 W / 3200 W / 6400 W
XTI specs dual 8ohm 1200 / 4 ohm 2100 / 2 ohm 3000
Itech 12000 specs dual 8 ohm 2100 / 4 ohm 4500 / 2 ohm 3750

I personally run 728s with Itech 8000s. I have the rms and voltage limiters engaged for some extra piece of mind. I don't have any complaints about my rig.
Are you running the 728's in parallel or in discrete with the internal switch?
Logged

Ray Aberle

  • Classic LAB
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3199
  • Located in Vancouver, WA (and serves OR-WA-ID-BC)
    • Kelcema Audio
Re: 4 SRX728s on 2 XTi6002 or 1 iTech12000HD
« Reply #4 on: February 05, 2016, 09:41:36 am »

JBL specs (Continuous1 / Program / Peak): Parallel: 1600 W / 3200 W / 6400 W
XTI specs dual 8ohm 1200 / 4 ohm 2100 / 2 ohm 3000
Itech 12000 specs dual 8 ohm 2100 / 4 ohm 4500 / 2 ohm 3750

I personally run 728s with Itech 8000s. I have the rms and voltage limiters engaged for some extra piece of mind. I don't have any complaints about my rig.
Are you running the 728's in parallel or in discrete with the internal switch?

Since he has 4 subs and two amps, I would ASSUME they're being run in parallel, and not discrete.

Looking at the numbers; if he made this change he'd go from 2100wpc (4 subs, two amps, stereo, one sub per channel) to 1875wpc (4 subs, one amp, stereo, 2 subs per channel, for a 2ohm load). Negligible (if that) noticeable change in output. And not increasing... lol.

-Ray
Logged
Kelcema Audio
Regional - Serving Pacific Northwest (OR, WA, ID, BC)

TJ (Tom) Cornish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3983
  • St. Paul, MN
Re: 4 SRX728s on 2 XTi6002 or 1 iTech12000HD
« Reply #5 on: February 05, 2016, 09:45:08 am »

As the subject reads, I'm wondering what you guys think would sound best. I have been running my 4 JBL SRX728s off of 2 XTi6002 for the last few years and am very satisfied with the results. But I just purchased another iTech12000HD as a backup amp to my other 12000HD that I run my JBL vt4886s off. So because it will be sitting in the rack, would I be better off using it for my subs instead of the 2 XTi amps. Right now I'm using a driverack 360 for processing the 728s and the V5 turnings on the other iTech for the vt4886.
If I did use the iTech for the subs what would you use for processing, the Driverack or one of the vertec sub tunings in the itech. Thanks in advance for your help.
Hi Jerry.  I think I would stick to the XTIs for the subs.  The 4Ω load of the 728 is a good match for the XTI6000, and though the ITHD12K will certainly drive the 2Ω load of two 728s per side, you will get slightly less power than the pair of XTI6000s, and you will also need to power your ITHD on a 208/240 circuit or you will blow the breaker running the subs hard (don't ask me how I know this :) ).

TJ
Logged

Scott Carneval

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 973
    • Cenero Audio Visual
Re: 4 SRX728s on 2 XTi6002 or 1 iTech12000HD
« Reply #6 on: February 05, 2016, 11:18:14 am »

If you already own the gear, I would just try it both ways and see which way you like better. On paper, the ITech 12000 will have a couple hundred watts less, but without seeing the duty cycle of either amp I would ASSume the I-Tech is longer. So it might have a little more 'reserve' power for bass hits. Try it both ways and let us know which you like better. 

A good comparison would be to run two 728's on one half of the I-Tech, and two 728's on the XTI. Play the same material and pan back and forth between the two amps.
Logged

Jerry Prince

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38
Re: 4 SRX728s on 2 XTi6002 or 1 iTech12000HD
« Reply #7 on: February 05, 2016, 03:20:53 pm »

Thanks you everyone for your help.
Steve, I run them in parallel mode, so at 4 ohms and 1 on each channel of the 6002s.
Ray, Thank you for checking the output of the itech amp. I was looking at the V5 documents that come with the 4886 tunings and it showed the 12000hd at 6000 watts at 2 ohms in stereo, but I do see on the Crown website they advertise much lower output.
TJ, TJ has been a great help with my deciding factor to go with the 4886 and the 12000hd over the 9000hd last year when I made the purchase and has helped me along the way. Thank you again TJ for the insight on trying to run the 12000hd on sub duty on regular voltage.
Scott, I might actually give that a try, but after everyone has responded it looks like I might be best just keeping the setup the way it is.
Thanks you again everyone and have a great weekend mixing.

Dave Guilford

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 85
Re: 4 SRX728s on 2 XTi6002 or 1 iTech12000HD
« Reply #8 on: April 16, 2018, 10:46:16 am »

Having trouble finding the info I need ANYWHERE.

Anyone know RMS VOLTAGE limiter setting id want for srx728 and/or Srx725??
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 


Page created in 0.029 seconds with 18 queries.