ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Paudio EL650 in EVT18 horn ??  (Read 4545 times)

Eugen Jeličić

Paudio EL650 in EVT18 horn ??
« on: May 30, 2016, 10:39:24 AM »

So i have been selling a pair of rcf event 6000 cabs for a few months and a few days ago one guy contacted me and offered a trade.

I have 4 EV T18 boxes that have previously been loaded with RCF L18S800 drivers. They used to work great but al four drivers got fried. Don't ask how.

So instead of just wanting to sell my event 6000 cabs i was interested in a trade for some 18's and money.

This guy offered me a few options.

The first option included 4 very old RCF L18 851 drivers. So not the 851KN versions, but the older L18 851.
It has a 1000w power handling and somewhat similar specs to my s800's. However they are about 15 years old. They are original, never repaired. But 15 years is a long time and who knows how much longer will they last.

So the second offer he gave me was 4 brand new PAUDIO challenger 18 EL650 drivers.
He is just about to put 4 fresh recone kits in them so they are basicaly brand new. But i don't know how good these drivers are and do they pair well with horn loaded boxes like the EV T18's i have?

My amps are old peecker sound 2x900w @4ohm. They give about 590w at 8ohms so i couldn't push the rcf 1KW drivers as hard as possible even if i wanted to.
The paudios seem to be a good option.

Do you have any opinions on these drivers and how would they work in a T18 box?

Paul G. OBrien

Re: Paudio EL650 in EVT18 horn ??
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2016, 11:34:48 AM »

Do you have any opinions on these drivers and how would they work in a T18 box?