ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: New X32 setup questions (Amateur Sound Guy)  (Read 13535 times)

Rick Chambers

• Accidental Sound Engineer
New X32 setup questions (Amateur Sound Guy)
« on: January 22, 2015, 12:10:19 PM »

Hi Guys,

Great forum. Thanks so much for giving back like this. I've found a lot of good info here. This is my first post so please forgive any missteps.

I'm an accidental sound engineer. By that, I mean I am a musician at my church who has a technical background. So I get to help with anything new or unfamiliar since we are small enough not to have a sound guy on staff. I've setup our analog boards in the past and helped teach anyone willing to run it. We recently purchased a Behringer X32 and tried getting it setup. Mostly successful, but I am a bit disappointed with the results. I don't feel like I've set it up well and I am not well versed enough as a sound guy to know how to address the problems.

My major concerns are:
- I don't understand the groups and mix bus well enough to make them work as I think they should.
- The resulting sound is no better than our old analog board. All mud.

I'll give a list of our "stuff" and how I am trying to set it up. If anyone can offer advise I would greatly appreciate it. Our first service with it is this Sunday and I'm sure it will work fine. At least not worse than last week. But like I said, I'm disappointed in the results so far.

Our style is somewhat contemporary (if that helps any). Our stage is grade school gymnasium style, concrete floors and all.

We have a praise team consisting of 4-5 singers and a worship leader (who is a bass singer  ??? ).

Instruments are:
- Drums (real kit in a plexiglass cage)
- Congas
- Lead Guitar
- Acoustic Guitar
- Bass Guitar
- Synth (Motif)
- Keys (piano'ish)