ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2 3  All   Go Down

Author Topic: yamaha 01v96 - crashes , reboots  (Read 901 times)

John William

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 41
yamaha 01v96 - crashes , reboots
« on: July 20, 2014, 06:23:31 pm »

Been using 2x 01v96 since years now , all sorts of jobs, all sorts of AC power but never an issue.

During a theatre rehearsal week and just about to go into a show (typical timing!!) my 01v crashes, no display on the screen, backlight remains on, no audio passes. I reboot the desk and it function correctly for the next hour and I just get through the show .

During break I get an analogue desk on standby as a backup.
next show is about to start and the 01v reboots of it's own accord and just when it's finished startup reboots again , this cycle continues.
In the mean time within 20 seconds I've patched in the analogue and get the show done , phew!!!

after the show  switch off the 01v leave for a while and it boots up correctly with no faults.

next day , next show setup my second 01v96 no more problem so I guess this rules out power issues at a guess.

I wonder if anyone here have had similar crashes/rebooting with the 01v96? any fixes?
I will struggle to trust this particular board again.

thanks all, John
Logged

dick rees

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5414
  • St Paul MN
Re: yamaha 01v96 - crashes , reboots
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2014, 06:39:54 pm »

You need to get a Fluke meter and learn how to check your power...especially in venues with lots of lighting or food service.
Logged
Pay no attention to the man behind the curtain...

John William

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 41
Re: yamaha 01v96 - crashes , reboots
« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2014, 07:09:52 pm »

You need to get a Fluke meter and learn how to check your power...especially in venues with lots of lighting or food service.

hi , thanks for the reply.
though I did not use this particular time I do have a meter but in this case although not impossible it is unlikely to be a power issue as the venue has perfect history in terms of power reliability (theatre with dedicated audio electrical circuit), and crucially the second 01v96 I set up ran perfectly.

01v's are usually incredibly resilient in bad/low situations and I find other items switch off well before they do. again the many other bits of gear being ran that day did not suffer an issues as I would expect with an electrical power issue.
Logged

Steve Alves

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 292
  • South Florida
    • South Florida Sound
Re: yamaha 01v96 - crashes , reboots
« Reply #3 on: July 20, 2014, 07:16:32 pm »

May seem like a silly question but are you sure there was no moisture or condensation inside. I had something similar happen after leaving one out all night (outdoor show). It was covered but some condensation creeped inside. A few bags of desiccant and a few days and it has been fine for two years.
Logged

Bob Leonard

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4249
  • Boston, MA USA
Re: yamaha 01v96 - crashes , reboots
« Reply #4 on: July 20, 2014, 11:46:15 pm »

You need to get a Fluke meter and learn how to check your power...especially in venues with lots of lighting or food service.

This and heat/airflow through the unit.
Logged
BOSTON STRONG........

Now touring nursing homes in a neighborhood near you..

don mcmeckan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
  • Vancouver Island B.C.
Re: yamaha 01v96 - crashes , reboots
« Reply #5 on: July 21, 2014, 01:01:26 am »

This and heat/airflow through the unit.

If the internal battery is bad, console will reboot, but you will lose your memories.

Had it happen at a gig, did the show with the console partially open!

Check the battery.

Thanks,      Don
Logged

mike mullin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
Re: yamaha 01v96 - crashes , reboots
« Reply #6 on: July 21, 2014, 10:20:42 am »

You're O1V96 needs to be serviced for cold solder joints and maybe a new battery.
This happened to both of my units. All was good after some proper servicing.
I didn't loose the memory either.
cheers,
Mike
Logged
Cheers,
Mike Mullin
Ottawa Ontario

Andrew Broughton

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 324
    • Check Check One Two Forums
Re: yamaha 01v96 - crashes , reboots
« Reply #7 on: July 21, 2014, 11:22:29 am »

If the internal battery is bad, console will reboot, but you will lose your memories.
I don't believe that. The battery is only a backup for the memory when your console is switched off. I don't believe a bad battery will cause a Yamaha console to reboot. Lose it's memory, yes. Reboot, no.
Logged
-Andy

"Well, my days of not taking you seriously are certainly coming to a middle..."

http://www.checkcheckonetwo.com
Saving lives through Digital Audio, Programming and Electronics.

Tim McCulloch

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12982
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: yamaha 01v96 - crashes , reboots
« Reply #8 on: July 21, 2014, 11:42:58 am »

You're O1V96 needs to be serviced for cold solder joints and maybe a new battery.
This happened to both of my units. All was good after some proper servicing.
I didn't loose the memory either.
cheers,
Mike

THIS.

Just like the grounding issue in the original 01v, it's fixable by your local Yamaha service technician.  I think they have a service bulletin about what solder points most often need reflow.  At any rate, any tech that has seen a few of them should know right where to look.
Logged
Chewing through your wimpy dreams
They eat without a sound,
Digesting England by the pound.

don mcmeckan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
  • Vancouver Island B.C.
Re: yamaha 01v96 - crashes , reboots
« Reply #9 on: July 21, 2014, 12:56:45 pm »

I don't believe that. The battery is only a backup for the memory when your console is switched off. I don't believe a bad battery will cause a Yamaha console to reboot. Lose it's memory, yes. Reboot, no.

This gig happened two years ago, so my memory may be a little fuzzy.

I'm pretty certain that we lost our scenes.

I'll check with my lighting guy to see if he remembers ( he's 30 years younger than me! )

Thanks,          Don
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3  All   Go Up
 


Page created in 0.16 seconds with 23 queries.