ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Switch for 3-phase power  (Read 6133 times)

Jeff Bankston

Re: Switch for 3-phase power
« Reply #10 on: July 10, 2014, 04:32:15 AM »

you can buy "disconnect switches" at electrical supply houses.  tell them its for indoor and you want a "Type 1". look at the circut breaker in the panel that those transformers are connected and use a disconnect thats the same amperage or higher that the breaker has. use a non fused disconnect. a non fused disconnect switch will not have fuses. tell them you need a 4 wire disconnect. 3 hot wires and 1 ground wire. heres 2 fotos of non fused disconnect switches. hire an electrician to do the job. i am a commercial journeyman electrician.
« Last Edit: July 10, 2014, 05:03:10 AM by Jeff Harrell »

Stephen Swaffer

« Reply #11 on: July 10, 2014, 02:43:25 PM »

And just to throw this out there, I don’t really care if it meets code or is dangerous (3-gang knife-blade switch, anyone?).  I want to look at all options before presenting anything to the powers that be.

Any help is appreciated.

Working with this kind of power with this attitude is a really good way to end up in a burn unit or worse.
Steve Swaffer

Jeff Bankston

« Reply #12 on: July 10, 2014, 03:22:55 PM »

Working with this kind of power with this attitude is a really good way to end up in a burn unit or worse.
+1 and thats why i told him to hire an electrician to do the job. its not just burning a place down its people lives you endanger by doing sh^&&* work.

Cosmo

• SR Forums
  • Northern Colorado, USA
« Reply #13 on: July 14, 2014, 02:39:43 PM »

Did I say I would use an unsafe solution?  No, I was just asking for suggestions.  Sometimes a half-assed or unsafe suggestion will lead to a discussion or idea which may have never been brought up otherwise.