ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Midas Pro Offline Editor File Management  (Read 1177 times)

Oroon Smith

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
Midas Pro Offline Editor File Management
« on: June 08, 2014, 09:07:14 pm »

I think I just lost a bunch of data on the Midas Pro Offline Editor but wanted to check with the forum first. I think I followed the proper steps: Opened editor, saved a show file then saved a scene, built an entire (rather large haha) file saving the show file and scenes the whole time. When I tried to export to a USB stick the editor wouldn't read three different USB sticks even though they show up in my finder window. I saved again and restarted the software and now, no more show file or saved scenes! I can't seem to find it anywhere in my CPU when I search for the file name.

Dang. Why isn't it reading my USB sticks? And why doesn't it save the file locally when you hit save...just like every other piece of software ever made?
Logged

Oroon Smith

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
Re: Midas Pro Offline Editor File Management
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2014, 09:31:29 pm »

Okay so after closing and opening the software a couple of times my show files have come back in the "filing" section. But still no USB sticks?
Logged

dick rees

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5790
  • St Paul MN
Re: Midas Pro Offline Editor File Management
« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2014, 09:38:34 pm »

I think I just lost a bunch of data on the Midas Pro Offline Editor but wanted to check with the forum first. I think I followed the proper steps: Opened editor, saved a show file then saved a scene, built an entire (rather large haha) file saving the show file and scenes the whole time. When I tried to export to a USB stick the editor wouldn't read three different USB sticks even though they show up in my finder window. I saved again and restarted the software and now, no more show file or saved scenes! I can't seem to find it anywhere in my CPU when I search for the file name.

Dang. Why isn't it reading my USB sticks? And why doesn't it save the file locally when you hit save...just like every other piece of software ever made?

I get the feeling you may have a problem following directions...
Logged
Pay no attention to the man behind the curtain...

Oroon Smith

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
Re: Midas Pro Offline Editor File Management
« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2014, 09:58:22 pm »

Thanks so much for the help.

As per the "Read Me"

"Start the offline editor by launching it from the applications folder. It may take a short time to start. A bouncing icon in the Mac OS dock indicates that the application is launching.

   NOTE: The application sometimes does not start up correctly in this version. Read the Known Issues section below for more information.

Create a new show:

    Select the Automation option from the menu
    Click the “New” button
    Enter a show name and press enter or click the ok button

Configure your external boxes:

    Select the Patching menu option and click the “config” button
    Add the IO boxes, and card options on your system using the dialog box

Name channels:

    Go to the Channel Name Page (Input Channel menu option)
    Click on a channel and either select or type a new name

Adjust levels:

    Go to the console Editor (Default menu option)
    Click on a channel to bring it up on the detail area on the left
    Select a detail area (using the vertical tabs) and change the setting of some rotaries by clicking on the rotary and moving the move left or right

Add / Save a scene:

   Either

    Select a slot and click the store option
    When the dialog box opens, click the overstore/store to next option and then click OK

   Or

    Right click the slot (Ctrl-click or two fingers)
    Select the Add->OverwriteScene (or insert Scene) option

Save the show:

    Go to the automation page
    There should be a red Save button, indicating unsaved changes
    Click the Save button, this should now turn blue
    This save operation can be completed in the filing page as well

Export your show:

    Go to the filing page and insert your USB key
    Unload the show with the unload option on the filing page
    Select your show and click export"

Not really dude. These mirror the steps I took.
Logged

dick rees

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5790
  • St Paul MN
Re: Midas Pro Offline Editor File Management
« Reply #4 on: June 08, 2014, 10:53:57 pm »

Not really.  I was referring to the part at the top of this page which says "your displayed name must be you real full name to post in the live sound forums".

Unbusted no longer...
Logged
Pay no attention to the man behind the curtain...

Tim Padrick

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 700
  • Indianapolis
    • T.P. Audio
Re: Midas Pro Offline Editor File Management
« Reply #5 on: June 08, 2014, 11:12:38 pm »

Store scene, Save shows.
Logged

Oroon Smith

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
Re: Midas Pro Offline Editor File Management
« Reply #6 on: June 09, 2014, 10:14:29 am »

Store scene, Save shows.

Sorry about the name thing will change soon. Does anyone have a similar experience with this software particularly with not getting USB recognition? "Store scene, save shows?" I've done that.
Logged

dick rees

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5790
  • St Paul MN
Re: Midas Pro Offline Editor File Management
« Reply #7 on: June 09, 2014, 11:05:39 am »

Sorry about the name thing will change soon. Does anyone have a similar experience with this software particularly with not getting USB recognition? "Store scene, save shows?" I've done that.

It may have something to do with the stick itself OR how it is formatted.  Some systems require you to format the USB device from the console, and if that fails you have to goto a computer and make sure that the formating is acceptable to the console.

Just guessing. 
Logged
Pay no attention to the man behind the curtain...

Oroon Smith

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
Re: Midas Pro Offline Editor File Management
« Reply #8 on: June 10, 2014, 10:59:23 am »

It may have something to do with the stick itself OR how it is formatted.  Some systems require you to format the USB device from the console, and if that fails you have to goto a computer and make sure that the formating is acceptable to the console.

Just guessing.

Yup that's right. Needed to format the stick in the machine for it to show up.
Logged

dick rees

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5790
  • St Paul MN
Re: Midas Pro Offline Editor File Management
« Reply #9 on: June 10, 2014, 11:01:21 am »

Yup that's right. Needed to format the stick in the machine for it to show up.

There you go.  Lucky guess on my part.

Welcome to the forums.
Logged
Pay no attention to the man behind the curtain...
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 


Page created in 0.195 seconds with 22 queries.