ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Dante Error - Fanout configuration detected?  (Read 767 times)

Tim Harrigan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
Dante Error - Fanout configuration detected?
« on: June 08, 2014, 04:01:20 pm »

setup is 2x CL5 w/ RIO's- 1x 3224 and 2x 1608 on redundant network with cisco sg300 and fiber gbic's to FOH.  upgraded firmware yesterday to 1.7 on FOH desk, rio 3224 and one of the 1608.  setup day today, audio has "gone fuzzy" from the FOH desk twice, sounds like a clocking/sample rate issue.  comes back fine after rebooting either the foh desk or the rio rack. audio to mains has muted completely and came back after pulling fiber and repatching.
suspecting a bad firmware update on one of the devices but they seem to working fine otherwise.
dante controller is showing a "Fanout configuration detected"- web search came up w/ nothing.  anyone know what this is?
thank you,
tim
Logged

Milt Hathaway

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1830
    • http://www.fitzcosound.com
Re: Dante Error - Fanout configuration detected?
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2014, 04:23:59 pm »

setup is 2x CL5 w/ RIO's- 1x 3224 and 2x 1608 on redundant network with cisco sg300 and fiber gbic's to FOH.  upgraded firmware yesterday to 1.7 on FOH desk, rio 3224 and one of the 1608.

So are all of the units upgraded to the same level at this point? Was Dante upgraded also (It's a separate procedure for that.)
Logged
--
Milt
FitzCo Sound, Inc.
Midland, TX
http://www.fitzcosound.com

Tim Harrigan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
Re: Dante Error - Fanout configuration detected?
« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2014, 05:23:34 pm »

yes- all units upgraded including dante firmware
Logged

Scott Helmke

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 375
Re: Dante Error - Fanout configuration detected?
« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2014, 11:05:01 am »

Try completely disconnecting the redundant/secondary network. If the problem clears up then try reconnecting the secondary ports one at a time.
Logged

Philip Roberts

  • Church and H.O.W. Forums
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 62
  • South West MI
Re: Dante Error - Fanout configuration detected?
« Reply #4 on: June 09, 2014, 12:00:09 pm »

dante controller is showing a "Fanout configuration detected"- web search came up w/ nothing.  anyone know what this is?

"Fan out configuration detected" means that for at least one Dante source is patched to three or more destinations, it's a reminder to evaluate if multicast is a better option.

I think there is a little more in the Dante Controller help file or on Audinate's website.

Philip
Logged

Tim Harrigan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
Re: Dante Error - Fanout configuration detected?
« Reply #5 on: June 09, 2014, 12:49:03 pm »

been stable all day, kinda strange issues have not happened again.
only change was moving the CL5's to Dante clock - they were on internal.

thanks for the advice and info.
« Last Edit: June 09, 2014, 12:52:31 pm by Tim Harrigan »
Logged

Scott Helmke

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 375
Re: Dante Error - Fanout configuration detected?
« Reply #6 on: June 09, 2014, 02:40:00 pm »

been stable all day, kinda strange issues have not happened again.
only change was moving the CL5's to Dante clock - they were on internal

Clock fight, there you go. Whenever you have more than one console you need to clock them from Dante, not internal.

Clock conflicts seem to cause various different problems, none of them obvious.
« Last Edit: June 09, 2014, 05:12:14 pm by Scott Helmke »
Logged

Kieran Walsh

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 87
    • Audinate
Re: Dante Error - Fanout configuration detected?
« Reply #7 on: June 26, 2014, 11:09:47 am »

"Fan out configuration detected" means that for at least one Dante source is patched to three or more destinations, it's a reminder to evaluate if multicast is a better option.

I think there is a little more in the Dante Controller help file or on Audinate's website.

Philip

The following Link may be of some help in terms of understanding this:

http://dev.audinate.com/GA/dante-controller/userguide/webhelp/home.htm#multicast_transmit_flow_configuration.htm

Logged
Senior Technical Solutions Manager, Audinate EMEA.
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 


Page created in 0.096 seconds with 24 queries.