ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5]   Go Down

Author Topic: Assessing the situation at my new church  (Read 15691 times)

Chris Haywood #984738495

• The sound man is the chief musician. Gig Harbor,WA
Re: Assessing the situation at my new church
« Reply #40 on: May 26, 2014, 05:15:15 PM »

Chris, you're a funny guy.  I guess if I played in your band, as a guitarist, I could bring in four Marshall Stacks and run them wide open. Then the drummer would want bigger amps.  Then I would want bigger amps.  Then the vocalists couldn't hear themselves and would be singing off key.  I guess a happy football quarterback shouldn't be discouraged from always passing the ball to his favorite guy on the other team.   :)

Yes Randall! you got it. My guitarist can stack his speakers up to the ceiling! Why? because the more EFFORT he puts into it, the better he will be. If he has to spend all that money to get all those speakers, I promise you, he will spend more time in practice, and if practice involves dynamic exercises, then guess what? An all new understanding of dynamic relationships shows up, and I will accommodate all the speakers by getting more sound shields and we may have a little more plexy than usual, but my guitarist will be able to play as loud as he can possibly take without blowing the mix because my band aid, aided the guitarist to play the way he most enjoys. Im not going to put a leash around his neck and tell him to do it my way.

If the drummer wants bigger drums lets go! That just means Im going to need bigger speakers too. Ive seen and heard of great things happening in loud services, but I have NOT witnessed anything supernatural in a quiet one.
« Last Edit: May 26, 2014, 05:39:55 PM by Chris Haywood #984738495 »
The more Jesus the better. The louder I praise Jesus, the louder he becomes in my life. I am surrounded by true riches and blessings.