ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5   Go Down

Author Topic: coffee  (Read 20037 times)

Doug Fowler

• Member since May 1995, 2nd poster on original LAB, moderator on and off since 1997, now running TurboMOD v1.826
  • Administrator
  • Saint Louis, MO USA
Re: coffee
« Reply #30 on: May 01, 2014, 07:07:02 PM »

I have been roasting for over a decade and now have two drum roasters (one for back-up), but you can get started with a pop corn popper. They usually use a varaic with the popcorn popper to vary the temperature.

I started out with a (fluid bed) forced air roaster, while they are cheaper they do not hold up very well. I graduated to a decent drum roaster after about a year and several break downs with my first air roaster. My current roaster is a top of line drum roaster with all the bells and whistles and frankly I don't use the extra gadgetry, so if i had that choice over I'd get the simpler but still big dog drum roaster and save the couple hundred dollars.

For just starting out you can get a hot air roaster pretty inexpensively and see if you like the results. In fact you could probably roast the green beans in a frying pan, while you don't want to roast coffee indoors. it makes a lot of smoke, and the beans throw off chaff, when they crack, kind of like popcorn popping but not as spectacular.   

JR

Lots of people using this:

http://www.amazon.com/Wabash-Valley-Farms-25008-Whirley-Pop/dp/B00004SU35/

Brawndo, the Thirst Mutilator. 
It's got electrolytes. 
It's got what plants crave.

John Roberts {JR}

• Hickory, Mississippi, USA
    • Resotune
« Reply #31 on: May 01, 2014, 07:14:54 PM »