ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Two newby-type questions  (Read 4923 times)

David Lane

Two newby-type questions
« on: April 28, 2014, 02:35:40 PM »

Hello all! This is my first post. I’m hoping for a couple lessons from wizened PA folk.

I am a singer/song-writer and acoustic guitarist who sets up sound for my solo and small acoustic band performances. Here is the equipment:

Yamaha DXR10 power speakers for FOH
Behringer B210D power speakers for stage monitors
Schertler Unico often used as another stage monitor
Soundcraft EFX8 mixer
dbx DriveRack PX
Several dynamic and condenser mics

I have two main questions at this point:

1) How should I hook up the stage monitors but still get a half way decent FOH mix?

Right now I’m daisy chaining the stage monitors off the FOH. I suspect that most sound engineers would hook the stage monitors to the Aux1 output of the mixer, but doing so would mean that I wouldn’t hear what the audience is hearing “at all”.

2) How do people use a stage snake that does not have “send” XLR connectors?

Right now I’m using XLR gender benders on two unused connectors which are apparently designed for “input”.

Thanks for your indulgence,

David

Corey Scogin

• Birmingham, AL, US
Re: Two newby-type questions
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2014, 02:38:10 PM »

Hello all! This is my first post. I’m hoping for a couple lessons from wizened PA folk.

Lesson 1: Read the forum rules and fix your display name.
Lesson 2: Figure out which forum area your post belongs in.
« Last Edit: April 28, 2014, 02:40:20 PM by Corey Scogin »

David Lane

« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2014, 02:49:50 PM »

Lesson 1: Read the forum rules and fix your display name.
Lesson 2: Figure out which forum area your post belongs in.