ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Custom Drum 'Cage' Efficiency  (Read 9122 times)

John McMullen

Custom Drum 'Cage' Efficiency
« on: April 05, 2014, 04:10:22 PM »

We are looking to build a drum cage that will be roughly 8'W 8'L 7'H.
We currently have a brand new 5 panel drum shield (each panel is 2'Wx5.5'H).

I am attempting to design a cage that will be a permanent fixture on the stage (as we are also adding some other items to the stage that require a permanent presence, i'd like to make them smooth with the appearance of the drums).

I have started working on a design that i think would work efficiently, but i'm not a professional in that regard, so i'm not certain. I am attempting to avoid a pre-made cage (due to the ~$3k starting pricetag).

Some basic requirements: 8x8x7', a door entrance, see-through (transparent) on 2 sides (it is on an angle to the audience).

My design (bear with me, as i attempt to describe it).
The framing will be done with 2x4s, and any walls/ceilings will be done with 1/4" plywood.

The FRONT and LEFT walls, will be 8x7 (8' long, 7' high). There would be a 1.5' wall on the bottom with 1" pyramid acoustic foam covering it on the inside (1" is the height). On top of the wall, will be 2'x5.5' plexiglass panels (5 of which will be from the current drum shield we have)--since each of these sides are 8' wide, there will be 4 panels.
The BACK wall will be framed, built with plywood and covered in 1" acoustic pyramid foam.
The RIGHT wall (entrance side) will have the same pattern as the front/left for half teh wall, and the other half will be a door, made with plywood covered in foam. The 1 foot between the door and the back wall will probably be covered in foam as well.
The CEILING will just be a framed/plywood/foam, just like the back wall.