ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 7   Go Down

Author Topic: Just Venting  (Read 26089 times)

Bob Burke

• 90 dB
Re: Just Venting
« Reply #10 on: April 05, 2014, 04:34:38 PM »

“I am personally offended by the idea of "musicians" needing backing tracks to prop up their performance. I'm saying this AS a musician!”

Brian Marshall

I don't know what you do for a living, but I play in a duo for a living. We use backing tracks. It's pure economics, really. We make less now than we did 30 years ago, adjusting for inflation. As a duo, we can scrape out a modest living. With a full band we would starve. We also get gigs that bands couldn't do – private parties, Tiki bars, etc. We've even taken to busking at fairs and festivals.

If that 'offends' you, I'm sorry. I would love to have a raging 7-piece that tore up the stage, but those days are long gone. Live music is a business of diminishing returns now, and one must do what one can to survive.

Regards,

Bob

Bob Leonard

• Boston, MA USA
« Reply #11 on: April 05, 2014, 06:26:26 PM »

I'm actually offended by clueless people being offended. There are many, many "A" level acts using backing tracks to supplement the band. I may not be working at that level now, but I use MIDI tracks and about $40K worth of sound equipment to supplement my band. I don't carry a horn section anymore, MIDI, I don't carry a B3 anymore, MIDI. Sometimes I work without bass player and drummer, MIDI. What is always real are the 3 guitar players, vocalists and backup vocalists. As a matter of fact I just spent $2000 on a Roland sound module and the drums can NOT be distinguished from the real deal.